All reviews, all lodges, 5*****

At the end of August 2018 we were delighted to have the very first entries in our GUEST BOOKS, that have their place at the coffee table in the lodges, by now it is a very impressive list of unanimous 5-star reviews. Some guests also found their way to public review sites such as Google and TripAdvisor, even though you cannot book Riverdale Lodges through channels like Tripadvisor (we ONLY take direct bookings).
But the guest who were able to leave a Tripadvisor-review, and a dozen reviews on Google, clearly back up the fact that we only ever have received 5-star reviews from every single guest that stayed with us. And quite a few of our guests left their 5*review on our Facebook page as well.

But here we give you a look into the old-fashioned Guest Books and made a picture of each and every page and typed them to make it easier to read. Please have a browse and read what our guests are saying - some useful tips between the lines too!
Top to bottom you will find all the reviews from Oystercatcher Lodge first, then the reviews of Kingfisher Lodge, and give it a good swipe or scroll if you want to get to the reviews of Curlew Lodge and, at the very bottom of the page, the reviews of Lapwing Lodge (or click one name to see ONLY the reviews of that lodge). To be continued!

OYSTERCATCHER LODGE

*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 12-19 July

Thank you for a great week! The lodge is beautiful, extremely well equipped and your attention to detail is second to none.

Ingrid, you’ve been so helpful from time of booking to time we left. Your personal touches are greatly appreciated.

Take care and thanks again!

Laura, Bob, Ross, Leah + Sparkie (the dog)


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, Monday 8th to Friday 12 July

Our three day stay has gone by in a flash. This is our second visit and it won’t be our last!

The lodge is wonderfully located and very well equipped. The welcome pack is second to none. As is the welcome from Ingrid and Han. Such wonderful hosts, Ingrid goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and at home. She is also a brilliant ‘flower arranger’. We are going home fully relaxed after a fabulous visit, Thank you with every good wish.

Joy Lupton


***** 

Oystercatcher Lodge, Friday 21st June

Thank you for another fantastic stay. Now we have two favourite lodges.

A lovely relaxing stay in perfect surroundings and back to reality tomorrow.

Holly, the dog, loved her stay too and all her special treats and toys. We all had everything we needed and more!! Even the weather was perfect. Thank you again and we will be back soon. Love,

Karen, Bob, Amy, Hannah and Holly the dog


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, Monday 8th July,

Wonderful stay – family get together for my 70th  from 3 corners of the globe. Everything we needed. Nothing to much trouble for you. Beautiful lodge, so well equipped and clean. Beds a delight! Once again, thank you.

Norma Jones & family


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 7th June – 13th June

Had a lovely well chilled break. Ingrid and Han have been so welcoming. The welcome pack was a fantastic idea and so thoughtful was the dog treats personalized for them. I only booked with 3 dogs but took a rescue dog last minute and Ingrid was very accommodating about this. Loved the dog shower for after muddy walks. Our weather wasn’t the best but it didn’t matter. This place is stunning. Ingrid and Han had thought of everything you will need to make you feel at home – even down to dog bowls, towels and brushes. Hopefully we will be back in September.

Love and best wishes, Cheryl, Colin, Millie, Tia, Ricco and Roo.


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 31 May to 7 June

Thank you for the very warm welcome and initial tour of Oystercatcher Lodge. Without doubt, it has everything you need and the welcome pack for exceeds anything we have ever had before. You really do not need to bring anything with you and it’s certainly the lightest we have ever travelled!

The weather has been perfect except for one afternoon and into the evening. We have thoroughly enjoyed sitting out almost every evening watching the wonderful views and this will remain in our memory forever. Thank you both for making this such a fantastic holiday. We wish you all the very best for the future and look forward to see you again some time.

Tim, Angela, Esme (the GSD)

PLEASE NOTE: Tim left a longer 5*review on Tripadvisor


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 24-31 May

We have all had an awesome stay and love the views of the river. I love sitting on the deck with my Kindle and relaxing. Everything for the dogs was so nice and thoughtful. They have been enjoying the treats. I love how it’s always so warm inside and the beds and sofas are so comfortable.

Sarah, Chris, Joy, Michael, Bea, Edward and Imogen.
And Flora, Corrie and Milo the dogs


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 17 - 24 May

Ingrid & Han,

Just sitting here on the last night of our stay at Riverdale Lodges and wishing our holiday was just starting! We have really had a wonderful week with you and can’t thank you enough for your kindness. The lodge is beautiful, the quality of everything in the place is second to none that we have previously visited.

The special little touches that welcomed us when we arrived were fantastic, the welcoming groceries, the little treats for Maizie, our 4 legged baby, she loved them. She found the bed so cosy and sat watching the river, in it.

The scenery and surroundings here are breathtaking and we have had a wonderful, relaxing week. We have been blessed with lovely weather also. Ingrid and Han are the perfect hosts and made us so welcome. Thank you both so much. We will be so sorry to leave tomorrow but as they say: all good things come to an end, and we must return home.

We wish the people that follow us here today a really wonderful holiday in Oystercatcher and Ingrid and Han all the best for the future. You are both so lovely. We look forward to return soon,

Kevin, Kath and Maizie Colley. 


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 10-17 May

This has been a wonderful holiday - one of the best! The lodge is simply beautiful - everything and more. Lovely personal touches and every luxury you could wish for. The perfect holiday for dogs and dog lovers. My baby was relaxed and happy and loved the treats, toys and gorgeous bed. I cannot fault this stay in any way. 5 stars! *****

And last but not least, thank you Ingrid and Han for looking after us so well. We shall certainly be back. I have fallen in love with this special place.

Liz and Bonnie x
Tracy and Cora x

And sunshine all day every day


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 3rd May - 6th May 2019

Thank you for a lovely stay in Oystercatcher. The lodge is extremely luxurious and has everything you need. The welcome pack is a lovely touch and very comprehensive. Molly and Meg loved their welcome pack too and tucked straight into their treats.

The lodges are extremely dog friendly with everything you could need and they both had a lovely time and settled in straight away and loved the decking area to be able to watch the river.

Beds are one of the comfiest have ever slept in and had great night’s sleep.
Great location with walks right on the doorstep, one into the village, with two lovely pubs and shop, we climbed up the Marmion Tower also with great views, and one along the river and woods as recommended.

Alison, Danny, Molly & Meg


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 2 May

A huge thank you! We have had the most fabulous week in Oystercatcher celebrating our anniversary, from start with your personal welcome to leaving with fabulous pictures and memories. The lodge is 5* plus with the most amazing views from all windows. There has been so much thought and attention to make us feel home from home, nothing has been forgotten. Could go on and on and on but its all been said in all reviews. Feel like we have had a week a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Yet so connected 5 mins from lodge to main roads to visit the many locations around.

Again a sincere thank you. We will be back for Christmas (already booked) if not before.

Cloud (our demanding Husky) also says woof to a dogs dream life. Loved the river walk every morning to local store to pick up paper. He has been so settled and comfy on his hol in lodge.

Thank you very much for our hand delivered gift for our anniversary even though it was a Sunday! Special touch made our break even more special. Our best wishes for the coming months, see you at Christmas!

Love,
Carole, Les and Cloud


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 22 April

Thank you for a wonderful time in Oystercatcher. We didn’t want to leave so we didn’t!! Thank you Ingrid for arranging an extra night for us at such short notice.

The lodge, the setting, the attention to detail and the incredible hospitality is what makes Riverdale Lodges extra special. Dogs loved it as much as we did and we will certainly return.

Annette, Gavin, kids and dogs


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 19 April

Thank you for the care and detail you have put into Riverdale Lodges, they are perfect. We have had such a lovely time and could never tire of the amazing view or location.
Our Newfoundlander Ferris has loved the porch and has spent every opportunity making the most of it.

To say the lodges are dog friendly is an understatement. You are very ‘dog welcoming’ rather than dog tolerant as most places are.

Our three grandchildren have loved the freedom of just being able to play outside and the ice cream party was another lovely touch and great success. Just wish we could stay longer but we will be without doubt back.

Steve, Janet, Oscar, Lucas, Isabelle and of course Ferris


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 14 April

Our stay at the Oystercatcher Lodge has been incredible. The position of the lodge is idyllic, the sight and sound of the river is truly something special.

The lodge was well equipped and extremely comfortable, with lots of outdoor space for children and dogs alike to play. The Oystercatcher facilities were to an extremely high specification. The beds were super comfy and ensured a restful nights sleep.

A welcome pack was provided which went above and beyond our expectations, this catered to the needs of all the family including our four legged friends Jess and Frank. There were many small extra touches which are a testament to Ingrid and Han’s attention to detail. We are really grateful for this!

The lodge is perfectly situated for many adventures and walks. Walks provided lots of stimulation ans surprises for all the family. We spent many afternoons wildlife spotting, stimming stones in the river and exploring the local terrain.

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your fantastic lodge! We would love to return in the near future.

Scott, Gemma, Jess, Brook, Robyn, Megan,
‘Jess-dog’ and ‘Frank’


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 25 March – 1 April

A great big Thank-you! Our week in the Oystercatcher Lodge has been absolutely amazing!! We were both truly overwhelmed, the lodge has everything! Your welcoming truly personal, you made us feel so very welcome, your attention to detail is perfect. We truly felt like we were home. The welcome package is a credit to you, it goes above and beyond all expectation. The lodge is so cozy and relaxing, totally stress free! The sound of the passing river is soothing and pleasant and the view is amazing, breathtaking.
Our two little Yorkshire Terriers loved it, you made them feel special, the dog treats were a great touch!

We will be back soon!!!
You are the perfect hosts, in the perfect setting.

Helen and Robert, Hollie and Daisy


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 24 March

Thank you for a great weekend at Oystercatcher. It’s a beautiful cabin. We loved the views and the decking area. We had great fun exploring the river. I kept an eye on flood levels* for you, no problems! We love it here and are looking forward to coming to stay again.

Ed, Jo and Thomas (age 3)

drawing by Thomas, us throwing stones in the river 

(* Ed’s profession: flood defence)


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 21 March

We can’t thank you enough for having such a beautiful well equipped lodge in absolutely gorgeous surroundings! Your welcome pack was superb with plenty to tempt the taste buds on arrival after our journey here. The lovely welcoming flowers and personal welcoming message greeted us as we entered this lodge. Scooby and Ruby’s eyes lit up when we came across their personalized jar of special treats! The dog/boot shower room was superb after some of those muddy walks.

We usually go abroad around this time of year but decided this year we would enjoy some of our own country with our dogs and we are so glad we did!

Thank you both again for being amazing hosts! We will definitely recommend you and hopefully see you again sometime with Ruby and Scooby and maybe our little grandson!

Jan, Ross, Ruby and Scooby
Thank you for the lovely book too x


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 03.03.2019

What can I say. This weekend meant the world to me. My first experience of the Grouse Moor with Ebby. To find you and Riverdale Lodges has made the experience even more special.

Ian and Sophie had somewhere beautiful and comfortable to stay, whilst I worked Ebby.

I could come ‘home’ to somewhere I could relax, take a marvelous shower and just enjoy. Your kindness with the extra things you offered and helped us with were truly appreciated (lifts and flasks)

And thank you also for the really lovely book.

You’ve definitely left your mark and next time we are in Yorkshire you’ll be our first port of call.

Niki, Ian and Sophie


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 24.02.2019

We have had the most amazing stay at Riverdale Lodges. We don’t want to leave. The location is perfect for exploring everything N. Yorks has to offer.

The lodge has everything you need for the most relaxing stay. The extra’s provided for dogs is a lovely touch.

We will be back soon!

Charlotte, Steven, Cassius & Jonah


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 14.01.2019

Thank you both for a wonderful stay at your beautiful lodges. We arrived late due to work commitments and we were met with a warm friendly smile from Ingrid. The lodge was cozy and so very well equipped with everything we needed to make our stay very comfortable.

The welcome package of goodies goes above and beyond expectations.

The area is lovely and quaint and very friendly.

The view from the lodge is simply amazing and a beautiful thing to wake up in the morning.

Thanks again to you both. We will definitely be back in the future. Keep up the hard work, you deserve the rewards that I’m sure will be coming your way

Julie and Clive


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 21 -28 December, Christmas

We have just had the most wonderful and relaxing Christmas break in your stunning lodge and your hospitality and attention to detail was second to none.

The facilities in the lodge are truly amazing and he personal touches made it even more special.

This is the first time our family has spent Christmas away from home and we were not disappointed. You had decorated the lodge beautifully and it felt just like home.

Thank you so much for all the little treats for the dogs. Maggie and Willow have loved their week away and the walks along the river are spectaculair.

You really created the most wonderful holiday park and we will most definitely be returning

Thanks again and see you soon again.

The Schumacher family


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 5.11.2018

WHAT A GREAT FIND!
We had so many boxes to tick for October half term but leaving it as late as we did, there was little chance left and we were on the brink of giving up and stay at home, when we found Riverdale Lodges - not Riverside or Riverview or other names you come across - they are new, dog friendly, although we didn’t bring one, set right alongside the River Ure where there is a great walk (the loop) to the 2 pubs in West Tanfield and a shorter walk back down the single track road to the lodges.
I have never been anywhere before with such a great welcome pack!
Well done to Ingrid, who was on hand if we needed her, and the welcoming touches were much appreciated - Oystercatcher is so well furnished and comfortable, it’s only a matter of time before they will shoot up the search engine and everyone will find them far more easily.
We will return, if we can get in!

Lynda B.


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 26.10.2018

Dear Ingrid & Han

Thank you so much for all your care and attention during our stay. We had a wonderful time in your beautiful lodge. The setting is to die for and we would love to return. Wes really enjoyed his first holiday although he did get stung by a wasp! (he soon recovered though)

The attention to detail in the lodge really enhanced our stay together with the comprehensive welcome pack. This is self catering holidays at its best.

Chris was amazed we all managed to keep the secret of our ‘additional guests’. Again thank you for your part in that.

Sally, Chris, Emily and Callum

And of course Wes, the Cockapoo


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 30.09.2018

We loved our stay at Riverdale Lodges. If you are looking for a dog-friendly holiday, it doesn’t get better than this. Plenty of stunning walks right from the lodge, a fenced in area for the dogs to run around in plis swimming in the River Ure and a lodge that has got everything that you can possibly need (dog bed, towels, bowls, etc.). To top it all off there is a hot water shower for the dog. so you can clean the dog after a long walk before going to the pub. Talking about pubs, there is a great dog-friendly pub at walking distance from the lodge. Loving every second of our holiday and can’t recommend Riverdale Lodges enough!

Bianca, Paul and Munsterlander Mika


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 20.09.2018

Dear Ingrid & Han

We have had a wonderful week staying in your beautiful lodge. The river in front is amazing. Your hospitality amazing. So helpful and the welcome you gave us so lovely.

Everything in the Lodge so well thought out and the welcome pack so nice.
Eddie was welcomed and treats for him so nice.
Lots of nice walks nearby and lots to see.

Once again, thank you!

Sue, Phil, Josie, Roger + Goldie Eddie


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 14.09.2018

Dear Ingrid+Han

We thank you for your lovely welcome and all the thoughtful details of Oystercatcher, this has made our stay very special.

Our lovely puppy really enjoyed living here for a few days and we saw him change and mature. The river and walks have been perfect for him. All of the dog treats, shower and facilities make this a special place…and your understanding of the wants, needs, peculiaraties of a Large Munsterlander is great for us.

We have loved the opportunity to explore the Dales and have felt really relaxed.
One of the nicest places we have stayed (and we have travelled a lot…)
Otto will miss the fuss. Thank you so much for a memorable and happy stay.

Jan & Tony and Otto


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 26.08.2018

We have had the most fabulous stay! Thank you for all your hospitality

Our stay in Oystercatcher has been so perfect, from cups of tea on the deck watching a family of deer come to the river for their breakfast, to evening walks along the riverbank where the dogs swam and the kids paddled in the water.

Everything in the lodge was so well thought of. We all felt we were straight at home and so sad to leave! We could’ve easily stayed for the rest of the summer. Rowan and Lady have lived in the lap of luxury and they definetely want to come back as we all!

Thank you so much again.

Tim, Jo, Hannah, Caleb, Elijah, Matthew, Liberty and the dogs Rowan, Lady


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 19.8.2018

Thank you for a wonderful stay. It was just the tonic we all needed!

We sadly have to leave our beautiful lodge – a definite home away from home. The welcome pack is the most comprehensive I’ve ever seen – you have literally thought of everything! What was the most special was all of the extra special touches you made which really made us feel welcome. You should be immensely proud of what you have achieved and we wish you all the very best for the future!

Our cheeky chappy Bobby has had a whale of a time – I’m not sure how he will take it once we’re home and he can no longer patrol the decking on a daily basis! Never mind us soaking in the gorgeous river views!

Without a doubt we’ll be back again – and already planning our next trip!

Nichola, Paul, Mandy, Craig, Kirsten & Bobby (the cheeky chappy)

Nichola also left a review on Tripadvisor. It is in the pictures on top of this page.


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 10.8.2018

Thank you for making us welcome at the Oystercatcher. We have all really enjoyed our stay, the lodge itself couldn’t be any better. We much appreciate your friendly welcoming and would love to visit again. The dog loved the lodge too and thoroughly enjoyed her treat.

Family Wood


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 6.8.2018

Thank you for making us so welcome. We have had a wonderful relaxing week. The view is amazing and would never tire of it.

The lodge is a home from home and you have thought of everything.

It is ideally placed to visit so many places, which we have done!

Steve, Mandy and Tilly dog!


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 20.7.2018

We all had a lovely stay. The lodge was wonderful and well equipped. In a beautiful setting. It had great WiFi. Elvis (dog) really enjoyed swimming in the river every morning.

Great to be able to walk to two pubs and the village shop. The beds were really comfortable and warm.

Helen, Steven, Michael, Annabelle & Elvis the dog


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 10.06.2018

Thank you for sharing your beautiful lodge with us!

We had a great week relaxing, watching nature and enjoying the fantastic views and with the great decking the lodge is perfectly set to take advantage of the sun. We had guests to stay with us for a night and all had a fantastic time.

It’s a rare treat to find such a gem and beautiful spot and to enjoy it as if it were our own.

Best wishes, Mr + Mrs Macdonald


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 01.06.2018

The lodge was very comfy and had a lovely view. It was really easy to get to different places. Having the walk nearby is great because you can walk to The Bull Inn. The river is really nice because it makes a lovely sound and background for the lodge. The bedrooms were fine and the beds were really comfy. The decking is nice because when the sun came out it was lovely, the chairs were really comfy and you could sunbath while listening to the river!
We had a great stay.

Thank you,
Genevieve (9 years)

Genevieve wrote her comment as the very first guest of Riverdale Lodges, even before we had a guestbook. That's why it is taped in on to the first page.


KINGFISHER LODGE

*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 12-19th July

Thank you so much for providing us with a week of total relaxation in a fantastic lodge in amazing surroundings. We loved the personal touches, the welcome board, personalized doggie treats for Alfie and Carlie, the extensive welcome hamper and the vase of fresh flowers and the bog bowl of fresh fruit.

Kingfisher lodge is just like a home from home and we didn’t want for anything.

The park itself is just the perfect place for dogs, being able to take them out off the lead which they loved.

We have done lodge holidays for several years  now and this is by far the best we have experienced. Ingrid and Han go above and beyond in making your stay perfect. A massive thank you for providing such a wonderful place.

Virginia, Bernard, Alfie & Charlie (Labs)


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 27 June-5 July

Thank you for the lovely welcome to Kingfisher lodge. Everything has been just perfect. Probably the best equipped, cleanest self catering accomodation we have ever stayed in. It’s better than home – everything is spotless and works!

We have loved the river views and have spotted Kingfishers three times. We have visited Thorpe Perrow Arboretum, Harlow Carr gardens, the World of Harriot in Thirsk, Castle Howard, Yorkshire Lavender and have even gone alpaca trekking at Beccon Alpaca. All excellent. We have had a wonderful time and we will be back! Thank you for the beautiful book!

Denise and Raymond Hunter, Jasper and Jacob


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 3-7 June

We are so pleased we found Riverdale Lodges. Kingfisher Lodge is just beautiful! Set in an idyllic spot by the river – so peaceful. Ingrid, you have been the perfect host from start to finish, so pleasant and helpful. There is nothing you haven’t thought of when equiping the lodge with so many lovely little touches to make us feel at home.

Kingfisher Lodge is just perfect for relaxing both, inside and out. Lovely beds and furnishing throughout.

There are lots of lovely villages and towns to visit, both near and far – Masham, Ripon, Pateley Bridge, Skipton (lovely), Thirsk.

We will certainly be recommending Riverdale Lodges to our friends – quite an exceptional place and quite the perfect spot for a break!

Thank you so much and hope to retun one day!

Christine, Robert, Stuart and Fiona

P.S. thank you so much for the beautiful flower arrangement and the lovely book of Yorkshire


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 27 May-2 June

We have had a wonderful, relaxing, enjoyable stay in Kingfisher Lodge. From the initial email to Ingrid she couldn’t have been more helpful. The lodge is absolutely beautiful and Ingrid has thought of everything and more for a perfect stay. The dogs have had a lovely time with the lovely beds, grand walks and water!! And not forgetting the treats: all gone!

Thank you so much and we will be returning for sure

Lynn, Keith, James, Jenny, Dave.
And spaniels Molly, Bella, Chez and Nala 


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 13-17 May

Hello, Rupert Bear here (I’m not a bear, I’m actually a dog)

As all our holidays are chosen with mine and Phoebe Retriever’s preferences in mind, I’ve been asked to ‘rate’ Riverdale Lodges: for dog friendliness I will give a 5* rating. I enjoyed being free to run around the whole park without a lead and to socialise with doggie neighbours, who I was delighted to entertain on the terrace.

Phoebe had a lovely time splashing around in the conveniently located river and availing herself of the shower block facilities.

We both loved the spacious terrace which allowed us to run in and out when the fancy took us without waiting for humans to open the door.

Excellent local walks and attractions and top notch treats! We were provided with posh dog beds. Would return? In the wag of a tail!

Small space for humans to comment:

Absolutely luxurious accomodation in an idyllic setting…and lots of delightful little touches to make you feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for Ingrid and Han (not even the Mediterranean weather for our stay). Everyone is made to feel like a special guests. Sorry we have to go!

Gerry, Haworth


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 22-19 April

A perfect, peaceful and idyllic place! The Lodge is just wonderful, a real home from home with everything you need and detail thought of. The welcome pack of essentials goes well beyond the ‘norm’ and is another special touch that makes Riverdale outstanding.

Our dogs were so welcomed and to say it’s a dog friendly place seems inadaquate, the jar of treats, the bowls, blankets, towels and beds (if needed). Walks from the lodge were superb too, doggy heaven and Ingrid a doggy whisperer!!

We have truly loved our week in Kingfisher and can’t wait to come again. Thank you Ingrid and Han for being such great hosts. We wish you every success in the future of Riverdale but have the feeling that anyone who visits will want to come again and again. Thank you also for the wonderful book, we were so very touched by your thoughfulness. Untill we return!

Paul and Sarah, Ozzie, Lily, Florence, Moley


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 22nd - 29th March 2019

Dear Ingrid,
Thank you for a quiet and relaxing holiday in a superb location. I came across your website purely by accident, read the amazing reviews and contacted you from there.
Right from the word go communication with yourself regarding the booking has been first class. We arrived late on the Friday evening keeping you updated on our arrival time. You were waiting at the lodge to greet us. On arrival you knew all our names which was a very personal touch. You showed us where everything was and how to change the settings in the lodge if needed. We were all made to feel very welcome. Alfie, the Golden Retriever, was on his first holiday and has absolutely, as they say, “had a ball”! Millie, the six year old was thrilled with the teddy bear you gave her to colour.

Never have we stayed anywhere with such an extensive welcome pack (milk, eggs, butter, crisps, biscuits, fruit, juice, etc) the list is endless. As it says on the Riverdale Lodges website, just bring yourselves and all the bits and pieces you could possibly use are in your lodge.

The area has plenty of nice walks and a small village to wander around. You will be ideally located to visit Harrogate, Ripon, Thirsk, York, and Fountains Abbey, to name a few places.

If you are thinking of booking a holiday at Riverdale Lodges, do not hesitate as I am 100% sure once word spreads about this site and its wonderful owners that it will be difficult to secure a booking for the week you require.

Ingrid and Han, wishing you all the very best for the future as you truly deserve it.

Yours sincerely,
Sue, Jay, and the rest of the clan
(Greenway/Taylor families)


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, March 4

Thank you so much for creating such a wonderful place. The lodge is so welcoming, down to the wonderful welcome hamper + the exquisite dog treats.

Ingrid, you made it clear nothing was too much trouble and thank you for that.

A wonderful dog friendly place, dogs are made so welcome, allowed to be off lead around the park was so unexpected and most welcome.

The fact that you both made a point at calling to wish me a Happy Birthday shows how thoughtful you are and a huge thank you for the birthday Prosecco! Very kind of you!

The lodge itself is a complete home from home, you really thought about providing everything + the bed was so  comfortable.

Wishing you lots of success for the future and hopefully we will return soon.

Greta and Pippa


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 14-22 Feb

WOW! What a fantastic place this is. From the booking experience & communication to find out about what we needed for the dogs, to the welcome explaining how everything works & the welcome pack of essentials and goodies. Everything has been thought of to ensure a relaxing break. The cabins are beautifully decorated with homely touches and perfectly clean. As people who work long hours and shifts we like to relax and spend time with our dogs when we are away and Kingfisher Lodge and its location was just perfect for us.

We walked our 4 Cocker Spaniels daily along the river. They spent time in and out of the water, then scrambled up the muddy banks so the dog wash facility was a godsend for us  - a fantastic idea. The dogs preferred it to the usual cold hose down they get on other places.

Ingrid was more than happy for our friends and their baby to visit us during our stay. We took them and the dogs to the Bull Inn for lunch – dogs welcomed but have to sit near the bar which was a bit tricky with 4 but the food was excellent.

We visited Ripon for a couple of hours – the dogs wanted to go to the Pet Shop for supplies! Lovely shops, worth a visit.

We can’t wait to come back in June and stay in Curlew (Kingfisher was booked or we would be back here). I’m sure we will book up again very soon. 1st class, peaceful, great views.

Thanks again for a great stay.

The Gordons

PLEASE NOTE: you will find a longer 5* review by Lisa G. about Kingfisher Lodge on Tripadvisor.


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 31 Dec - 4 Jan

What a blissful start to the New Year, 2019! It is so lovely to be back, this time with twinkly fairy lights and beautiful Christmas decorations.

We asked for nice weather and Ingrid and Han did not disappoint! It’s been beautiful!

There is so much to do locally, suitable for the children and the dogs. We loved Brimham rocks and the local walks have been perfect. Everyone has felt refreshed and peaceful.

The kitchen is so well stocked. We’ve been able to make pancakes for breakfast and the children have been able to do baking because all the necessary equipment is here, even a electric whisk!

The beds are so comfy! The dogs evidently love theirs too!

Thank you Ingrid and Han for yet another beautiful, relaxing break

Nikki, Joe, Ben, Daisy, Hollie, Amelia, Bella, Gizmo and Pixie!


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 27-31 December

Kingfisher, what a lovely start. We were met by Ingrid with the most wonderful welcome of welcomes. She had thought of everything. Not only for my children and wife but our Cocker Spaniel Billy as well. We loved it here for four days and nights in a most beautiful, quiet spot. Billy loved the walks along the river and so did we. My daughter loved her room. She said she felt like a princess and we struggled to get her out in the mornings because she was so comfy in her bed. Probably quite normal for a teenager but worse than normal. Brilliant from start to finish for us all.

Andrew, Ann, Lucy, William, Billy


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 10.12.2018

Well what a lovely relaxing break we have had. We were met by Ingrid and made to feel very welcome. The lovely little touches, welcome message on black board, treats for dogs with their names on and water already in their bowls inside and out.
The lodge is so peaceful and comfortable with anything you could possibly need. Thank you for our welcome pack and everything in the fridge.
This is heaven for our dogs and they loved it.
The whole place was so clean and the beds and pillows so comfortable.
Nothing was any trouble to Ingrid and we really appreciate her explaining everything and information about walks.
We were so lucky with the sunshine too in December.

We will be back, thank you again.

Di, Colin,
Ollie, Daisy & Lottie
xxx

See you next year


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 09.11.2018
(COPIED FROM GOOGLE REVIEWS)

November 2018, Kingfisher Lodge; Had a wonderful week. Easy to use website, smooth booking and payment process, was sent driving directions and a personal welcome by the owner. Arrived to a stocked fridge, lots of towels and toiletries, free WiFi - even dog treats and toys. The lodge and surrounding area is stunning. The owners are so friendly and it was such a pleasant change from all of the other places we’ve stayed. It was ideal and stress free for us and our two dogs. Everything was better than anything we could have expected and hoped for. Worth every penny. The lodge has all of the amenities you could need and the plush furnishings and fancy finishing touches made it even better. LOVED the peace and quiet and being a super dog-friendly holiday park was what we wanted and we got so much more. Can’t wait to go back.

Marie and Edward, and the dogs Shirley and Buster

This couple stayed a week at Kingfisher Lodge to escape the fireworks around Bonfire night with their dogs.They liked it so much that they booked another week around New Year, and also booked their stay in 2019! Thanks!


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 07.11.2018

Hi there, just a few words before we go…..what a lovely place and lots of lovely touches. (I loved the birds+butterflies) Slept well last night, and loved the pillows, saw the young owl after we had arrived, when out for a walk with my daughter and dogs. I kept sighing while here as so relaxed and content!

Thank you xx

Marie + Dennis (from Leeds)

Parents of above guests, visiting for a few days


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 29.10.2018

What a beautiful place! The setting is idyllic and even at the end of October we have been able to sit on the deck in the sun and enjoy morning coffee. The river is perfect. It’s so incredibly peaceful.

Being so rural, the sky at night allowed our children to star-gaze. They were delighted to see shouting stars. Day and night, this place is a perfect retreat.

It is so refreshing to find a place that welcomes both dogs and children. In our experience, there are very few places that do this. And, we really were welcomed. Ingrid met us and was delightfully friendly and clearly takes great pride in making everyone feel at home.

We walked in to the lodge to find a blackboard welcoming our family, each by name. The dogs each had their own beds, food bowls and a pot of treats that they loved! The whole place was immaculate and we instantly felt at home. There was milk, jam, butter, bread, a large bowl of fruit and other snacks…brilliant!

We have loved the local walks that are right on the doorstep. We will certainly be returning to explore the area further. York, Harrogate and Ripon are not far away.

Thank you, Ingrid! You are lovely!

Nikki, Joe, Ben, Daisy, Hollie, Amelia

Gizmo, Pixie and Bella!

It’s lovely to know we will now see you all back during the December holidays. Looking forward to it!

*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 24.10.2018

Hi Ingrid,

Many thanks again for such a lovely stay in Kingfisher we had a fantastic couple of days, the lodge was brilliant, had everything we needed, Inca loved it too! Great to know where you are for future visits to Yorkshire. The children were sad we forgot to write in your visitor book! Perhaps you could write a message from us;
‘Many thanks for a wonderful couple of days we all loved staying in Kingfisher especially Inca our lab! A great base to explore from and just a new and fun experience staying in a lodge, we will be back! Becks, Si, Olly, Millie, Lottie and Inca Davidson xx’

Many thanks

Rebekah

This family stayed for a 2-nights break while travelling from Scotland to London during the October school holidays.


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 10.09.2018

Thank you Ingrid for a wonderful weekend. 

The lodge is absolutely perfect in every way and we did not want for anything (nor did Holly the dog - she loved her basket and treats). 
The setting is beautiful with the river running past the door and the fields to the sides. 

It did leave us with a bit of a dilemma - should we tell all our friends and family about it (or keep quiet as it is bit of a hidden gem). 

We will of course be spilling the beans and recommending this little bit of paradise and we will definitely be coming again. 
You even delivered on the weather as it was a gorgeous sunny and warm weekend. 

Thank you again for a lovely weekend. 

Karen, Bob, Amy, Hannah & Holly the dog

We received this entry for our Guest Book on 10 September 2018 by email, to print and add to the book. The family Spink spent the first weekend of September as our guests in Kingfisher Lodge.


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 31.08.2018

Thank you, Ingrid, for a wonderful visit. It is a lovely place and very comfortable for everyone. You seem to have all the right things in place for everyone staying here. Rex thoroughly enjoyed himself as it was his first holiday and everything was provided for him.

There are plenty of excellent walking routes along the river and an excellent little pub over the bridge. The host was very capable and made sure we wanted for nothing. I would certainly look to come again. For those who like their wildlife, there are deer, kingfishers, cranes and locals. Thank you very much for the hard work Ingrid.

This was the perfect little break. We have absolutely loved our time here and will be back.

Matcham and Dalton family


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 26.08.2018

We found this lodge when looking for a late/last minute week away – what an amazing find!

Ingrid and her partner were here to meet us and explain everything. The welcome pack was a lovely detail along with the dog basket of treats. The lodge was comfortable, beautifully appointed and very well equipped. Super setting to chill out, unwind and relax. We absolutely loved it! The village was lovely and the village store had great provisions with friendly owners.

We visited York, walked along the river to the village, had a great day at Thorp Perrow, lovely gardens, lots of animals and bird displays. Our boys loved feeding the wallabies. Fountains Abbey was amazing and we spent hours walking in the grounds of the water gardens, finding the deer and exploring.

Ripon is a gorgeous city. We did the three museums and enjoyed the shops and streets. We had a day out at Lightwater Valley – the boys loved this.

So much still to do in this area, no doubt we will come back and Riverdale Lodges will definitely be our first choice.

Beverly, Simon, Theo, Archie and the dog Seth


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 18.08.2018

This was a great find. The surroundings are beautiful and the standard of accommodation exceptional. Everything that you could want has been provided and more.

We enjoyed sitting out on the gorgeous decking area overlooking the river as it babbled past. Roe deer would visit the river’s edge every day and they were a joy to see.

This will be recommended to our friends and I have no doubt that we will return.

Super place, thank you

Andy, Sandra, Emma, Michelle Bedford


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 4.08.2018

We feel so lucky to have found this exceptional lodge in the quaint and charming village of West Tanfield.

We had an amazing welcome from Ingrid who ensured that every little detail was covered, even our dog got a welcoming treat!

The setting is wonderful and we spotted a whole host of birds flying and feeding along the river bank, we even saw the Kingfisher, so the lodge is aptly named.

There is something for every age and ability in the area, cycling, walking and sight seeing. A trip to the Brymor ice cream shop is a must, the range of flavours are extremely tempting.

Do visit the Himalayan Gardens in Grewelthorpe, you won’t be disappointed. There are guided walks in the Dales so if you don’t feel like adventuring at yourself take advantage of joining a group walk, local guides are very knowledgeable.

We certainly enjoyed the tranquillity of this exceptional site. I have no doubt we will be back.

Allison and family


CURLEW LODGE

*****

Curlew Lodge, 22 July

The most perfect stay at the Curlew Lodge, everything was fantastic, welcome pack superb. Micky and Lexie were truly spoilt with their treats and toys. Mum and Dad came for my 50th birthday celebrations for a couple of nights and ended up staying for the whole week. Surrounding areas fantastic, lovely setting for lovely lodges. Ingrid and Han, thank you so much. Your hospitality was superb. Will definitely be returning.

Denise, Derek, Jonathan, Helen, Keith and Mickey, Lexie


*****

Curlew Lodge, 8-12 July

Arrived on Monday to a very warm welcome. The cabin was above and beyond what we expected. Ingrid really went to town on personal touches, including personalised treats for the dogs. From the day we booked Ingrid had been fantastic and made our stay extra special providing all the necessities and more for both the dogs and baby. We would 100% recommend and would definitely return!

Trena, Steve, Rach, Gaz, Louie, Toby, Ollie and Lewis.


*****

Curlew Lodge, 30 July-6 August

Thank you for a wonderful stay, everything has been so perfect. Can’t wait to come back soon.

Juan, Cheryl, Warren, Amanda, Miggy, Dexter, Curly and Leo


*****

Curlew Lodge, 3-6 May

Our family group of 5 had a great stay in Curlew – lovely setting, so well appointed, spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. Everything very well thought out, all we would possibly need for us and our dogs! All in all a wonderful stay. Ingrid and Han made us feel so at home and were so helpful. The extras included are so thoughtful – the hamper, the toiletries, dog toys, the cosy throws, etc. all such lovely touches and very much appreciated. The area is absolutely beautiful too, with wonderful walks along the river and further afield. We had a brilliant day in Malham (highly recommend). Thank you for a fantastic break, we would love to come back again one day – hopefully for longer!

Louise, Martin, Pam, Georgia, Daisy, Brodie and Oban 


*****

Curlew Lodge, 19-22 April

Amazing stay at the Curlew Lodge!

The lodge was beautiful and clean on our arrival. Thank you to Ingrid and Han for their superb hosting skills and for making sure everything was perfect.

Stayed for 3 nights and managed to squeeze in: *Emmerdale set tour, *Bracken Ghyll golf course, *Skipton boat hire, *A trip to the local pub The Bull Inn, *lots of long walks with the dog.

Brilliant weather, great company and a picturesque setting…what more could you ask for!

The Connolly’s and Monty


*****

Curlew Lodge, 15th-19th April

We have just had four nights in Curlew Lodge and WOW!
When we arrived Ingrid was waiting to show us around our lodge - stunning 3 bedrooms, one with an en-suite, family bathroom, all spotlessly clean with plenty of fluffy towels. Everything has been thought of from washing up liquid/dishwasher tablets to cling film and foil. Plenty of kitchen ware unlike a lot of places where you hire a six berth unit and you get just six of everything.

But it’s the extra things like the welcome pack with bread, milk, butter, biscuits, tea, coffee plus loads more, the dog beds, bowls, toys and high quality treats. Riverdale Lodges are truly dog friendly. We’ve never been anywhere where Bruno has been so welcomed. He has loved playing with the dogs in the other lodges.
The wood burner is a lovely touch along with the unlimited supply of logs.

Riverdale Lodges is a beautiful place, the surrounding area and walks are stunning, the sound of the river is so relaxing, the local pub serves lovely food and is very welcoming and also dog friendly.

Nothing is too much trouble for Ingrid and Han, they really do go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.

Jane, Ian, Sophie, Morgan and Bruno


*****

Curlew Lodge, 8-15 April

Spur of the moment booking!

Having returned home from a week in Oystercatcher on 1st April, we had our grandchildren for the holidays. Monday 8th we looked to see if any lodge was vacant. The Curlew was vacant for the week, the others booked. We had enjoyed Oystercatcher so much, we wanted to bring our grandchildren so asked Ingrid, and got Curlew that day, and whilst we loved Oystercatcher, we also fell for Curlew! These lodges for us are just perfect in every way. Ingrid and Han are brilliant hosts! Going the extra mile with every last detail. Our grandchildren enjoyed themselves immensely, learning so much, walking, running, playing outdoors, so much nicer than exercising their thumbs on todays technology/game/phones, lol. We will definitely be returning to the place we call heaven. Home from home Riverdale Lodges!!!
Thank you again, Ingrid and Han.
Best wishes,

Helen + Robert, grandchildren, Hollie + Daisy


*****

Curlew Lodge, 5-8 April 2019

Thank you Ingrid. From start to finish everything has been amazing. Booking was seamless, including personalized directions sent in advance. We chose Curlew as it offered exactly what I needed for our holiday, that included my 13 year old daughter, 18 year old son (who unfortunately couldn’t join us in the end due to work commitments) and my father and our Cockapoo, therefore necessarily a dog friendly lodge with 2 double and one twin bedded rooms.

Beautiful presented lodge, lovely personal touches, just wish we could have stayed longer. Hoping to come back again with the family in the not too distant future. Thank you again for a wonderful weekend!

Best wishes, Denise, Paul, Francesca, Gordon and Cracker 


*****

Curlew Lodge, 25-29 March

A lovely relaxing second visit to Curlew with our 3 hounds. Everything perfect and so well catered for. Exactly what we wanted to quietly celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary while we await the birth of our first baby.

Thank you, Kelly, Ashley, Daisy, Dougal, Dylan + bump x


*****

Curlew Lodge, 22-25 March 2019

Well, this was our second trip back to Riverdale. Last year we stayed in Lapwing. This time we decided to try Curlew. Equally perfect in every way but the extra bonus was the lovely log burner which I used frequently… Ingrid thinks of everything, it is the finishing touches, the peace and quiet, the lovely walks for the boys and the attentive catering (welcome pack)! Thank you again, it was what we needed, a few days loving a rest, walking  off our dogs to day stresses and enjoying the evenings with a glass (or two) sat in front of the roaring fire! We will be back and continue to recommend the lodges to our friends and family..

Thank you, Angie, Lynn, Theo and Max


*****

Curlew Lodge, 15-19 March 2019

Thank you, couldn’t have asked for better. Really lovely lodge and hospitality, a really relaxing place, ideal place to relax and chill out. Sit and relax on the veranda with a coffee or glass of wine or two and listen to the river. Lots of walks around, short walks or long walks. Don’t want to leave. I will be booking up to come and stay again.

Thank you, Ingrid and Han,
Love, Carole xxx


*****

Curlew Lodge, 8-11 March

We had an amazing weekend break, it was just what the doctor ordered, it was relaxing. We could park up and no need to drive off for anything as everything was provided. I think the only thing I couldn’t find in the kitchen was… scales but who needs kitchen scales. It truly is a well equipped kitchen*. The dogs loved the long walks off lead and a swim.

Thank you so much Ingrid a complete rest away from busy lives. We will be back.

Louise, Billy, Merlot and Sidney.


*Louise told me that as a keen baker, she was planning to create some cakes during her time off at the lodge, so I asked her to score our kitchen utensils for that. When scales was all she missed, we thought it over, but decided that adding specialist baking scales to the inventory was probably taking it too far, as the measuring jugs do that job already up to an everyday level.


*****

Curlew Lodge, 28 December 2018

Last minute booking…What a fantastic lodge + surroundings.
Welcome pack full of quality goods, logs, towels, dog treats + toys + candles lit on arrival.

Beau the bullmastiff totally enjoyed the walks and swims in the river and a shower area for dirty dogs complete with shampoo and towels is so thoughtful.

Loved every minute of it and the host Ingrid is delightful.
We will be back and plan to bring our families.
Thank for making our Christmas sooooo special.

Kev, Liz + Beau (English Bullmastiff)


*****

Curlew Lodge, 12.10.2018

Thank you!
We had a fantastic stay at the Curlew Lodge. The setting is beautiful and we have all enjoyed exploring the area. It’s brilliant to find somewhere so accommodating to dogs. Bella felt like royalty & had a lovely holiday.
Ingrid & Han have made us feel so welcome, they really couldn’t do enough for us and made our break so relaxing with all the effort made to make us feel welcome. The small touches for both us and the dog really made it for us & the welcome pack was fab. We will be sure to return again!

Katherine, Thomas, Harry, Alfie, Sally, Steve, Rick, Sam & Bella xx


*****

Curlew Lodge, 15.09.2018

Thank you for a wonderful weekend. The lodge is in a great location with walks around the area, not far from different day trips and has a very friendly village and pub just 5 minutes walk away. The lodge is ever so homely, cosy and comfy, a home away from home. You definitely have thought of everything, including catering for dogs. Mabel loved the treats!
And last but not least, Ingrid & Han are the perfect hosts, super friendly and very efficient. We will definitely be booking to come back with the rest of the family.

Thanks,

Stacey, Gary, Paula, Neil, Lesley and Mabel


*****

Curlew Lodge, 26.08.2018

An immaculately presented property in an idyllic location nestling on the edge of the Dales National Park. The host Ingrid was quick to respond to all enquiries and prepared the property with a warm, friendly modern and charming style with lots of unique touches that made us feel at home. The grocery pack was excellent, extensive and rich. The bowls, titbits, toys and facilities for the dog were a particularly nice touch, he felt truly spoilt. Popping by to make sure everything was okay and catching up during the visit also a nice touch. Accommodation was excellently presented and located in the idyllic location near West Tanfield with two great pubs, Village store and on the “trade route” to Black Sheep at Masham ...

Sat in the sun on the large deck listening to the river babbling away nearby and watching the wildlife was so peaceful .... Overall a 5 star experience !!!!

Ian Riddle

Our guests booked Curlew Lodge through Airbnb and reviewed it on Airbnb. We copied the page to add it to our Guest Book.


*****

Curlew Lodge, 23.08.2018

We have had a lovely and relaxing stay. Curlew was perfect for us and the hounds. Ingrid is super friendly and efficient.

So nice to find somewhere that welcomes and is equipped for dogs.

We have booked to come back in March

Kelly, Ashley, Daisy, Dougal, Dylan

Good to know we will see the two of you and your Basset Hound trio back for your Anniversary in March! Thanks!


*****

Curlew Lodge, 10.08.2018

A beautiful lodge which caters perfectly for any occasion. We had a fantastic break, the hosts are so friendly and very welcoming. They truly have thought of literally everything even thinking of the children and our dog. An excellent find that we will recommend to everyone. Thank you for your hospitality

Lee, Jo, Lea, Zach and Rosie the dog.


*****

Curlew Lodge, 3.8.2018

Thank you very much for allowing our families to be one of the first to stay at the Curlew Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back in the future to see how the park has developed.

The Ritchies and McConnells


LAPWING LODGE

 

*****

Lapwing Lodge, 15-25 July

What a lovely holiday we’ve had! We booked Lapwing after a great deal of research, looking for somewhere we could be relaxed about having our golden retriever Jack on holiday with us.
Boy, did we pick well!

Ingrid and Han have made us all feel so welcome, with a fantastic welcome pack for us all – Jack was thoroughly spoilt! The lodge is just lovely, with high quality features and fittings, comfy beds and more throws to help us feel relaxed than you find at John Lewis! We’ve spent a fabulous 12 days exploring the area, including our daughter Eilidh galloping through the Masham countryside on a gorgeous pony! I can’t recommend Riverdale Lodges highly enough – 5* are not enough.

Andy, Rhona, Eilidh and Jack from Aberdeen 


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 5-15 July

Probably the most dog friendly accomodation we have stayed in and we have stayed in quite a few. The humans are not forgotten either, with Ingrid and Han providing a highly personal service. We had just about given up having a holiday, the first with our 1 year old Charlie + Ollie, when Riverdale Lodges popped up on my Facebook page. For once a most useful Facebook pop-up. All that was promised on the website has been delivered in spades.

Riverdale Lodges has been a great find in an area we enjoy visiting. The Lodge and all fittings are first class, providing everything we needed plus more. We go home refreshed and hope to visit again. Thank you,

Marilyn, Dennis, Charlie and Ollie from South Cumbria


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 21-28 June

Wow, what can we say, but ‘thank you’ for letting us stay in Lapwing Lodge. Everything you need, clean and tidy. Thank you Han for getting us extra doggie towels for our German Shephards Yogi and Blaise, they loved the water and running in the fields when it was wet. Thank you for the doggie treats but unfortunately they couldn’t have them, they have left them for some other doggies to enjoy! We loved the walks and the steam train ride to Whitby. We will be back in the future and would be recommending it to our friends. The hamper was very much appreciated when we arrived.

Thank you again from Derek, Maria, Yogi and Blaise


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 14-16 June

What a lovely site to find! The cabin is immaculate clean, warm and every little home comfort has been thought of for a true home-away-from-home experience. Max and Romona enjoyed the dog walks and the doggie treats Ingrid provided where well received. As was the large bowl of fruit and welcome hamper provided, for the humans, on the first night, when we hadn’t thought to shop first! I would highly recommend the Wensleydale Heifer in Wensleydale for Sunday lunch. As London foodies we were more than just a little impressed. The Dales are breathtaking. I would love to come back, just to paint it. Thank you Ingrid and Han for a five star service. You are a 5 star plus! We will be back and we will recommend to our family and friends. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Richard, Jennie, Max and Romona


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 3-6 May

What a fabulous time we have had at Lapwing Lodge. Riverdale Lodges are in a beautiful tranquil location next to the river, surrounded by beautiful countryside and birdsong. Lapwing has every home comfort and the welcome hamper was much appreciated; Molly also loved her treats and toys!

We visited Ripon, Masham, Brymer icecrea, watched the Tour de Yorkshire and ate fabulous food at the dog friendly Bruce Arms (Masham) and Freemasons Arms (Nosterfield). We feel like we have had a proper relaxing break, even though we’ve only been here for a weekend and hope we can come back agaian before too long!

Thank you Ingrid, it has been the perfect way to celebrate Grandma’s 80th and your thoughful touches are much appreciated.

The Gunshon family, Grandma and Molly (on her 1st holiday)

 


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 21st April

A wonderful stay in Lapwing Lodge – thank you! I was brought up in the area soi it is always interesting to see how Yorkshire develops. I would say that the lodges are in keeping to the village and importantly family and dog friendly. Ingrid was most helpful with helping me organize this visit, every detail covered! We most definitely will return, most likely at Christmas where we know our four legged friends will be as spoilt as us! Thank you

Love, the McCracken family!


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 12-19 April

Such a delightful treasure of a place to stay! Desperate for a last minute Easter break with three border collies – this was a perfect find! Such a joy to find quality accommodation that also caters for dogs with no hidden costs. Normally you book accomodation, get taxed for taking dogs and receive nothing that helps to make a dog’s stay more comfortable. Not here!
We have thoroughly enjoyed all the personal touches for humans and canines. Ingrid and Han are perfect hosts - so professional & caring. Everything is thought of and some lovely extra special touches & surprises.
We arrived to pristine accommodation, comfortable, warm and lovely welcome goodies! We have also been blessed with beautiful weather and enjoyed stunning walks. Thank you for making our week very special. We will recommend! A blissful week.
Many many thanks.

Vicky, Rich, Georgina, James, Meg, Oscar and Twig Berry from Maidenhead.

Highlights: - warm dog shower - lovely clean dog beds - grain free treats - dog towels - comfortable quality human beds.


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 25-29 March 2019

We booked Lapwing Lodge as a last minute short break and it has been wonderful. The lodge is beautiful and so clean and tidy. There was the added luxury of all the doggy things provided and Gracie loved the dog treats. The hamper of goodies and fruit was a lovely treat. The views from the balcony were lovely and relaxing, just what we needed. It was heaven for Gracie to have the freedom of so many places to walk straight from the door.
We visited Hackfall Wood to explore some more which was delightful.

Ingrid and Han were very welcoming hosts and explained everything we needed to know. The dog wash room was an added bonus and came in very handy. We will definitely be back for longer next time.
Thank you,

Emma, Ladas, + Gracie


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 16-23 February

We have stayed at Lapwing Lodge for one week at half term with our two girls 10 & 8.

The lodge is beautiful, very comfy and clean with lots of thoughtful extras that make this a very relaxing holiday.

The views and location are spectacular. We relaxed at the lodge and local area and also visited lots of lovely places nearby such as Fountain Abbey and Brimham Rocks.

Highly recommended for a quiet but interesting family break with plenty to do in a beautiful location and very high standard accommodation.

Ingrid and Han have been very welcoming and helpful.

Bronagh, Stephen, Niamh and Orla


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 21-28 December

We booked Lapwing Lodge for Christmas week as we wanted to have a quiet Christmas away with the dog, relaxing and exploring the area. Upon arrival we found the lodge beautifully decorated ready for Christmas with a tree and various other beautiful decorations for Christmas.

There was also personalised treat jar for Mieke, a welcome hamper for us and a lovely message on the blackboard.

Ingrid and Han were very welcoming and made us feel comfortable, they were very helpful by showing us around the lodge and the facilities (dog wash room), which became very useful during the week, after being out on muddy walks with the dog.

The lodge itself is immaculate with a very homely feel and all mod-cons, and even a selection of books and local guides under the coffee table.

Would highly recommend Riverdale Lodges and we will definitely be back in the future.

Nick, Lisa and Mieke


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 26.10.2018

We booked Lapwing Lodge at Riverdale Lodges as a last-minute holiday and we were not disappointed. The lodge was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Everything was of high quality and comfort, a real home from home. Everything you could possibly need was already there. The welcome pack was so well thought out. Even down to special dog treats for Tess.
Ingrid & Han were such lovely friendly hosts, even suggesting walks straight from our lodge door. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The area is so peaceful with abundant wildlife. We were lucky enough to see a Kingfisher whilst on one of the river walks.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and will definitely recommend Riverdale to our friends and family. Hopefully we will be back again soon.

Thanks again, Love, Neil, Carol & Tess
xxx


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 22.09.2018

Thank you for our wonderful stay at your lodge. Nothing was to much trouble for you. The lodge was outstanding and all the little touches were wonderful.
All the best in your venture.

Regards,

Frances, Jack, Roxy, Scamp + Ben
xxx


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 31.8.2018

After booking last minute we were certainly impressed by the sheer luxe of Lapwing Lodge. The service and hospitality of Ingrid and her husband was impeccable – thank you.

The boys enjoyed their walks along the river Ure and snuggled down on their beds in the evenings.

The hamper was a wonderful and thoughtful addition when we arrived. The finishes of the Lodge were exceptional and we will be highly recommending these lodges to our friends and family.

Fountain Abbey was a memorable adventure as was visiting the Black Sheep brewery and seeing Masham. Recommend the delightful pub The Bull Inn in West Tanfield with its beautiful beer garden, overlooking the river. This break has been truly restful and very restorative, with the surrounding quiet apart from the noises of nature. Thank you for a truly memorable stay.

Fondest regards,

Angie, Lyn, Theo & Max


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 27.08.2018

Thank you so much for such an unexpected beautiful stay at Lapwing Lodge! Molly dog has been well and truly spoilt – she’s particularly enjoyed her jummy doggy treats! The lodge has everything you need and then some and the setting is a bonus. The lovely welcome hamper was much needed when we had forgotten to look out for a shop on the way and we had fun playing the board games provided on our first night. We’ve explored the local area (but know there is much more to see). We would recommend the ‘7 bridges valley walk’ at Fountains Abbey. When it’s rained we’re enjoying watching films on Netflix and listening to the sound of the river at night.

We look forward to coming back for our ‘Molly-day’ very soon and hope future guests enjoy their stay just as much as we did!

The Killingbecks


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 24.08.2018

Thank you for a fabulous week in your gorgeous lodge! We’ve had a wonderful family time exploring this part of Yorkshire. The lodge was perfect for our family with lots of lovely touches. The welcome hamper included lots of goodies.

With thanks, family Kelly (the ‘try-out team’)