REVIEWS UPDATED
All reviews, all lodges, always 5*****

At the end of August we were delighted to show the very first entries in our GUEST BOOKS, in January we added the winter reviews and now you can see it updated until April. More guests also found their way to public review sites such as TripAdvisor and Google, so have a look there too! There are not as many reviews yet on public sites as in our own Guest Books. Our guests only book directly with us, not through channels like Tripadvisor. But the few that were able to leave a Tripadvisor-review, and a good dozen reviews on Google, clearly back up the fact that we only ever have received 5-star reviews from every single guest that stayed with us. And some of our guests left their 5*review on our Facebook page as well.

Here we give you a look into the old-fashioned Guest Books that have their place at the coffee table in the lodges. We made a picture of each and every page (use the arrow to move through the pictures) and typed transcripts that make it easier to read. Please have a browse and read what our guests are saying. Top to bottom you will find all the reviews from Oystercatcher first, then Kingfisher Lodge, and give it a good scroll down if you want to get to the reviews of Curlew Lodge and, at the very bottom of the page, Lapwing Lodge. To be continued!

OYSTERCATCHER LODGE

*****

03.03.2019

What can I say. This weekend meant the world to me. My first experience of the Grouse Moor with Ebby. To find you and Riverdale Lodges has made the experience even more special.

Ian and Sophie had somewhere beautiful and comfortable to stay, whilst I worked Ebby.

I could come ‘home’ to somewhere I could relax, take a marvelous shower and just enjoy. Your kindness with the extra things you offered and helped us with were truly appreciated (lifts and flasks)

And thank you also for the really lovely book.

You’ve definitely left your mark and next time we are in Yorkshire you’ll be our first port of call.

Niki, Ian and Sophie


*****

24.02.2019

We have had the most amazing stay at Riverdale Lodges. We don’t want to leave. The location is perfect for exploring everything N. Yorks has to offer.

The lodge has everything you need for the most relaxing stay. The extra’s provided for dogs is a lovely touch.

We will be back soon!

Charlotte, Steven, Cassius & Jonah


*****

14.01.2019

Thank you both for a wonderful stay at your beautiful lodges. We arrived late due to work commitments and we were met with a warm friendly smile from Ingrid. The lodge was cozy and so very well equipped with everything we needed to make our stay very comfortable.

The welcome package of goodies goes above and beyond expectations.

The area is lovely and quaint and very friendly.

The view from the lodge is simply amazing and a beautiful thing to wake up in the morning.

Thanks again to you both. We will definitely be back in the future. Keep up the hard work, you deserve the rewards that I’m sure will be coming your way

Julie and Clive


*****

5.11.2018

WHAT A GREAT FIND!
We had so many boxes to tick for October half term but leaving it as late as we did, there was little chance left and we were on the brink of giving up and stay at home, when we found Riverdale Lodges - not Riverside or Riverview or other names you come across - they are new, dog friendly, although we didn’t bring one, set right alongside the River Ure where there is a great walk (the loop) to the 2 pubs in West Tanfield and a shorter walk back down the single track road to the lodges.
I have never been anywhere before with such a great welcome pack!
Well done to Ingrid, who was on hand if we needed her, and the welcoming touches were much appreciated - Oystercatcher is so well furnished and comfortable, it’s only a matter of time before they will shoot up the search engine and everyone will find them far more easily.
We will return, if we can get in!

Lynda B.


*****

26.10.2018

Dear Ingrid & Han

Thank you so much for all your care and attention during our stay. We had a wonderful time in your beautiful lodge. The setting is to die for and we would love to return. Wes really enjoyed his first holiday although he did get stung by a wasp! (he soon recovered though)

The attention to detail in the lodge really enhanced our stay together with the comprehensive welcome pack. This is self catering holidays at its best.

Chris was amazed we all managed to keep the secret of our ‘additional guests’. Again thank you for your part in that.

Sally, Chris, Emily and Callum

And of course Wes the Cockerpoo


*****

30.09.2018

We loved our stay at Riverdale Lodges. If you are looking for a dog-friendly holiday, it doesn’t get better than this. Plenty of stunning walks right from the lodge, a fenced in area for the dogs to run around in plis swimming in the River Ure and a lodge that has got everything that you can possibly need (dog bed, towels, bowls, etc.). To top it all off there is a hot water shower for the dog. so you can clean the dog after a long walk before going to the pub. Talking about pubs, there is a great dog-friendly pub at walking distance from the lodge. Loving every second of our holiday and can’t recommend Riverdale Lodges enough!

Bianca, Paul and Munsterlander Mika


*****

20.09.2018

Dear Ingrid & Han

We have had a wonderful week staying in your beautiful lodge. The river in front is amazing. Your hospitality amazing. So helpful ans the welcome you gave us so lovely.

Everything in the Lodge so well thought out and the welcome pack so nice.
Eddie was welcomed and treats for him so nice.
Lots of nice walks nearby and lots to see.

Once again, thank you!

Sue, Phil, Josie, Roger + Golden Eddie


*****

14.09.2018

Dear Ingrid+Han

We thank you for your lovely welcome and all the thoughtful details of Oystercatcher, this has made our stay very special.

Our lovely puppy really enjoyed living here for a few days and we saw him change and mature. The river and walks have been perfect for him. All of the dog treats, shower and facilities make this a special place…and your understanding of the wants, needs, peculiaraties of a Large Munsterlander is great for us.

We have loved the opportunity to explore the Dales and have felt really relaxed.
One of the nicest places we have stayed (and we have travelled a lot…)
Otto will miss the fuss. Thank you so much for a memorable and happy stay.

Jan & Tony and Otto


*****

26.08.2018

We have had the most fabulous stay! Thank you for all your hospitality

Our stay in Oystercatcher has been so perfect, from cups of tea on the deck watching a family of deer come to the river for their breakfast, to evening walks along the riverbank where the dogs swam and the kids paddled in the water.

Everything in the lodge was so well thought of. We all felt we were straight at home and so sad to leave! We could’ve easily stayed for the rest of the summer. Rowan and Lady have lived in the lap of luxury and they definetely want to come back as we all!

Thank you so much again.

Tim, Jo, Hannah, Caleb, Elijah, Matthew, Liberty and the dogs Rowan, Lady


*****

19.8.2018

Thank you for a wonderful stay. It was just the tonic we all needed!

We sadly have to leave our beautiful lodge – a definite home away from home. The welcome pack is the most comprehensive I’ve ever seen – you have literally thought of everything! What was the most special was all of the extra special touches you made which really made us feel welcome. You should be immensely proud of what you have achieved and we wish you all the very best for the future!

Our cheeky chappy Bobby has had a whale of a time – I’m not sure how he will take it once we’re home and he can no longer patrol the decking on a daily basis! Never mind us soaking in the gorgeous river views!

Without a doubt we’ll be back again – and already planning our next trip!

Nichola, Paul, Mandy, Craig, Kirsten & Bobby (the cheeky chappy)


*****

10.8.2018

Thank you for making us welcome at the Oystercatcher. We have all really enjoyed our stay, the lodge itself couldn’t be any better. We much appreciate your friendly welcoming and would love to visit again. The dog loved the lodge too and thoroughly enjoyed her treat.

Fam. Wood


*****

6.8.2018

Thank you for making us so welcome. We have had a wonderful relaxing week. The view is amazing and would never tire of it.

The lodge is a home from home and you have thought of everything.

It is ideally placed to visit so many places, which we have done!

Steve, Mandy and Tilly dog!


*****

20.7.2018

We all had a lovely stay. The lodge was wonderful and well equipped. In a beautiful setting. It had great WiFi. Elvis (dog) really enjoyed swimming in the river every morning.

Great to be able to walk to two pubs and the village shop. The beds were really comfortable and warm.

Helen, Steven, Michael, Annabelle & Elvis the dog


*****

10.06.2018

Thank you for sharing your beautiful lodge with us!

We had a great week relaxing, watching nature and enjoying the fantastic views and with the great decking the lodge is perfectly set to take advantage of the sun. We had guests to stay with us for a night and all had a fantastic time.

It’s a rare treat to find such a gem and beautiful spot and to enjoy it as if it were our own.

Best wishes, Mr + Mrs Macdonald


*****

01.06.2018

The lodge was very comfy and had a lovely view. It was really easy to get to different places. Having the walk nearby is great because you can walk to The Bull Inn. The river is really nice because it makes a lovely sound and background for the lodge. The bedrooms were fine and the beds were really comfy. The decking is nice because when the sun came out it was lovely, the chairs were really comfy and you could sunbath while listening to the river!
We had a great stay.

Thank you,
Genevieve (9 years)

Genevieve wrote her comment as the very first guest of Riverdale Lodges, even before we had a guestbook. That's why it is taped in on to the first page.


KINGFISHER LODGE

*****

10.12.2018

Well what a lovely relaxing break we have had. We were met by Ingrid and made to feel very welcome. The lovely little touches, welcome message on black board, treats for dogs with their names on and water already in their bowls inside and out.
The lodge is so peaceful and comfortable with anything you could possibly need. Thank you for our welcome pack and everything in the fridge.
This is heaven for our dogs and they loved it.
The whole place was so clean and the beds and pillows so comfortable.
Nothing was any trouble to Ingrid and we really appreciate her explaining everything and information about walks.
We were so lucky with the sunshine too in December.

We will be back, thank you again.

Di, Colin,
Ollie, Daisy & Lottie
xxx

See you next year


*****

09.11.2018
(COPIED FROM GOOGLE REVIEWS)

November 2018, Kingfisher Lodge; Had a wonderful week. Easy to use website, smooth booking and payment process, was sent driving directions and a personal welcome by the owner. Arrived to a stocked fridge, lots of towels and toiletries, free WiFi - even dog treats and toys. The lodge and surrounding area is stunning. The owners are so friendly and it was such a pleasant change from all of the other places we’ve stayed. It was ideal and stress free for us and our two dogs. Everything was better than anything we could have expected and hoped for. Worth every penny. The lodge has all of the amenities you could need and the plush furnishings and fancy finishing touches made it even better. LOVED the peace and quiet and being a super dog-friendly holiday park was what we wanted and we got so much more. Can’t wait to go back.

Marie and Edward, and the dogs Shirley and Buster

This couple stayed a week at Kingfisher Lodge to escape the fireworks around Bonfire night with their dogs.They liked it so much that they booked another week around New Year, and also booked their stay in 2019! Thanks!


*****

07.11.2018

Hi there, just a few words before we go…..what a lovely place and lots of lovely touches. (I loved the birds+butterflies) Slept well last night, and loved the pillows, saw the young owl after we had arrived, when out for a walk with my daughter and dogs. I kept sighing while here as so relaxed and content!

Thank you xx

Marie + Dennis (from Leeds)

Parents of above guests, visiting for a few days


*****

29.10.2018

What a beautiful place! The setting is idyllic and even at the end of October we have been able to sit on the deck in the sun and enjoy morning coffee. The river is perfect. It’s so incredibly peaceful.

Being so rural, the sky at night allowed our children to star-gaze. They were delighted to see shouting stars. Day and night, this place is a perfect retreat.

It is so refreshing to find a place that welcomes both dogs and children. In our experience, there are very few places that do this. And, we really were welcomed. Ingrid met us and was delightfully friendly and clearly takes great pride in making everyone feel at home.

We walked in to the lodge to find a blackboard welcoming our family, each by name. The dogs each had their own beds, food bowls and a pot of treats that they loved! The whole place was immaculate and we instantly felt at home. There was milk, jam, butter, bread, a large bowl of fruit and other snacks…brilliant!

We have loved the local walks that are right on the doorstep. We will certainly be returning to explore the area further. York, Harrogate and Ripon are not far away.

Thank you, Ingrid! You are lovely!

Nikki, Joe, Ben, Daisy, Hollie, Amelia

Gizmo, Pixie and Bella!

It’s lovely to know we will now see you all back during the December holidays. Looking forward to it!

*****

24.10.2018

Hi Ingrid,

Many thanks again for such a lovely stay in Kingfisher we had a fantastic couple of days, the lodge was brilliant, had everything we needed, Inca loved it too! Great to know where you are for future visits to Yorkshire. The children were sad we forgot to write in your visitor book! Perhaps you could write a message from us;
‘Many thanks for a wonderful couple of days we all loved staying in Kingfisher especially Inca our lab! A great base to explore from and just a new and fun experience staying in a lodge, we will be back! Becks, Si, Olly, Millie, Lottie and Inca Davidson xx’

Many thanks

Rebekah

This family stayed for a 2-nights break while travelling from Scotland to London during the October school holidays.


*****

10.09.2018

Thank you Ingrid for a wonderful weekend. 

The lodge is absolutely perfect in every way and we did not want for anything (nor did Holly the dog - she loved her basket and treats). 
The setting is beautiful with the river running past the door and the fields to the sides. 

It did leave us with a bit of a dilemma - should we tell all our friends and family about it (or keep quiet as it is bit of a hidden gem). 

We will of course be spilling the beans and recommending this little bit of paradise and we will definitely be coming again. 
You even delivered on the weather as it was a gorgeous sunny and warm weekend. 

Thank you again for a lovely weekend. 

Karen, Bob, Amy, Hannah & Holly the dog

We received this entry for our Guest Book on 10 September 2018 by email, to print and add to the book. The family Spink spent the first weekend of September as our guests in Kingfisher Lodge.


*****

31.08.2018

Thank you, Ingrid, for a wonderful visit. It is a lovely place and very comfortable for everyone. You seem to have all the right things in place for everyone staying here. Rex thoroughly enjoyed himself as it was his first holiday and everything was provided for him.

There are plenty of excellent walking routes along the river and an excellent little pub over the bridge. The host was very capable and made sure we wanted for nothing. I would certainly look to come again. For those who like their wildlife. There are deer, Kingfishers, cranes and locals. Thank you very much for the hard work Ingrid.

This was the perfect little break. We have absolutely loved our time here and will be back.

Matcham and Dalton family


*****

26.08.2018

We found this lodge when looking for a late/last minute week away – what an amazing find!

Ingrid and her partner were here to meet us and explain everything. The welcome pack was a lovely detail along with the dog basket of treats. The lodge was comfortable, beautifully appointed and very well equipped. Super setting to chill out, unwind and relax. We absolutely loved it! The village was lovely and the village store had great provisions with friendly owners.

We visited York, walked along the river to the village, had a great day at Thorp Perrow, lovely gardens, lots of animals and bird displays. Our boys loved feeding the wallabies. Fountains Abbey was amazing and we spent hours walking in the grounds of the water gardens, finding the deer and exploring.

Ripon is a gorgeous city. We did the three museums and enjoyed the shops and streets. We had a day out at Lightwater Valley – the boys loved this.

So much still to do in this area, no doubt we will come back and Riverdale Lodges will definitely be our first choice.

Beverly, Simon, Theo, Archie and the dog Seth


*****

10.8.2018

This was a great find. The surroundings are beautiful and the standard of accommodation exceptional. Everything that you could want has been provided and more.

We enjoyed sitting out on the gorgeous decking area overlooking the river as it babbled past. Roe deer would visit the river’s edge every day and they were a joy to see.

This will be recommended to our friends and I have no doubt that we will return.

Super place, thank you

Andy, Sandra, Emma, Michelle Bedford


*****

14.06.2018

We feel so lucky to have found this exceptional lodge in the quaint and charming village of West Tanfield.

We had an amazing welcome from Ingrid who ensured that every little detail was covered, even our dog got a welcoming treat!

The setting is wonderful and we spotted a whole host of birds flying and feeding along the river bank, we even saw the Kingfisher, so the lodge is aptly named.

There is something for every age and ability in the area, cycling, walking and sight seeing. A trip to the Brymor ice cream shop is a must, the range of flavours are extremely tempting.

Do visit the Himalyan Gardens in Grewelthorpe, you won’t be disappointed. There are guided walks in the Dales so if you don’t feel like adventuring at yourself take advantage of joining a group walk, local guides are very knowledgeable.

We certainly enjoyed the tranquillity of this exceptional site. I have no doubt we will be back.

Allison and family


CURLEW LODGE

*****

12.10.2018

Thank you!
We had a fantastic stay at the Curlew Lodge. The setting is beautiful and we have all enjoyed exploring the area. It’s brilliant to find somewhere so accommodating to dogs. Bella felt like royalty & had a lovely holiday.
Ingrid & Han have made us feel so welcome, they really couldn’t do enough for us and made our break so relaxing with all the effort made to make us feel welcome. The small touches for both us and the dog really made it for us & the welcome pack was fab. We will be sure to return again!

Katherine, Thomas, Harry, Alfie, Sally, Steve, Rick, Sam & Bella xx


*****

15.09.2018

Thank you for a wonderful weekend. The lodge is in a great location with walks around the area, not far from different day trips and has a very friendly village and pub just 5 minutes walk away. The lodge is ever so homely, cosy and comfy, a home away from home. You definitely have thought of everything, including catering for dogs. Mabel loved the treats!
And last but not least, Ingrid & Han are the perfect hosts, super friendly and very efficient. We will definitely be booking to come back with the rest of the family.

Thanks,

Stacey, Gary, Paula, Neil, Lesley and Mabel


*****

26.08.2018

An immaculately presented property in an idyllic location nestling on the edge of the Dales National Park. The host Ingrid was quick to respond to all enquiries and prepared the property with a warm, friendly modern and charming style with lots of unique touches that made us feel at home. The grocery pack was excellent, extensive and rich. The bowls, titbits, toys and facilities for the dog were a particularly nice touch, he felt truly spoilt. Popping by to make sure everything was okay and catching up during the visit also a nice touch. Accommodation was excellently presented and located in the idyllic location near West Tanfield with two great pubs, Village store and on the “trade route” to Black Sheep at Masham ...

Sat in the sun on the large deck listening to the river babbling away nearby and watching the wildlife was so peaceful .... Overall a 5 star experience !!!!

Ian Riddle

Our guests booked Curlew Lodge through Airbnb and reviewed it on Airbnb. We copied the page to add it to our Guest Book.


*****

23.08.2018

We have had a lovely and relaxing stay. Curlew was perfect for us and the hounds. Ingrid is super friendly and efficient.

So nice to find somewhere that welcomes and is equipped for dogs.

We have booked to come back in March

Kelly, Ashley, Daisy, Dougal, Dylan

Good to know we will see the two of you and your Basset Hound trio back for your Anniversary in March! Thanks!


*****

10.08.2018

A beautiful lodge which caters perfectly for any occasion. We had a fantastic break, the hosts are so friendly and very welcoming. They truly have thought of literally everything even thinking of the children and our dog. An excellent find that we will recommend to everyone. Thank you for your hospitality

Lee, Jo, Lea, Zach and Rosie the dog.


*****

3.8.2018

Thank you very much for allowing our families to be one of the first to stay at the Curlew Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back in the future to see how the park has developed.

The Ritchies and McConnells


LAPWING LODGE

 

*****

26.10.2018

We booked Lapwing Lodge at Riverdale Lodges as a last-minute holiday and we were not disappointed. The lodge was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Everything was of high quality and comfort, a real home from home. Everything you could possibly need was already there. The welcome pack was so well thought out. Even down to special dog treats for Tess.
Ingrid & Han were such lovely friendly hosts, even suggesting walks straight from our lodge door. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The area is so peaceful with abundant wildlife. We were lucky enough to see a Kingfisher whilst on one of the river walks.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and will definitely recommend Riverdale to our friends and family. Hopefully we will be back again soon.

Thanks again, Love, Neil, Carol & Tess
xxx


*****

22.09.2018

Thank you for our wonderful stay at your lodge. Nothing was to much trouble for you. The lodge was outstanding and all the little touches were wonderful.
All the best in your venture.

Regards,

Frances, Jack, Roxy, Scamp + Ben
xxx


*****

31.8.2018

After booking last minute we were certainly impressed by the sheer luxe of Lapwing Lodge. The service and hospitality of Ingrid and her husband was impeccable – thank you.

The boys enjoyed their walks along the river Ure and snuggled down on their beds in the evenings.

The hamper was a wonderful and thoughtful addition when we arrived. The finishes of the Lodge were exceptional and we will be highly recommending these lodges to our friends and family.

Fountain Abbey was a memorable adventure as was visiting the Black Sheep brewery and seeing Masham. Recommend the delightful pub The Bull Inn in West Tanfield with its beautiful beer garden, overlooking the river. This break has been truly restful and very restorative, with the surrounding quiet apart from the noises of nature. Thank you for a truly memorable stay.

Fondest regards,

Angie, Lyn, Theo & Max


*****

27.08.2018

Thank you so much for such an unexpected beautiful stay at Lapwing Lodge! Molly dog has been well and truly spoilt – she’s particularly enjoyed her jummy doggy treats! The lodge has everything you need and then some and the setting is a bonus. The lovely welcome hamper was much needed when we had forgotten to look out for a shop on the way and we had fun playing the board games provided on our first night. We’ve explored the local area (but know there is much more to see). We would recommend the ‘7 bridges valley walk’ at Fountains Abbey. When it’s rained we’re enjoying watching films on Netflix and listening to the sound of the river at night.

We look forward to coming back for our ‘Molly-day’ very soon and hope future guests enjoy their stay just as much as we did!

The Killingbecks.


*****

24.08.2018

Lapwing Lodge

Thank you for a fabulous week in your gorgeous lodge! We’ve had a wonderful family time exploring this part of Yorkshire. The lodge was perfect for our family with lots of lovely touches. The welcome hamper included lots of goodies.

With thanks, family Kelly (the ‘try-out team’)