OYSTERCATCHER LODGE

Reviews June 2018 - July 2019 (most recent first)

Please find here the complete content of our Guest Book for Oystercatcher Lodge, plus a few reviews published by our guests on public sites such as Google and Tripadvisor. By the end of July 2019, we had gathered 33 reviews for Oystercatcher Lodge, unanimously 5 star rated. Also have a look at the guests’ reviews on our Facebook Page (now called ‘recommendations’ by Facebook) and go to SEE ALL REVIEWS to read the reviews of the other 3 lodges too.

*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 12-19 July

Thank you for a great week! The lodge is beautiful, extremely well equipped and your attention to detail is second to none.

Ingrid, you’ve been so helpful from time of booking to time we left. Your personal touches are greatly appreciated.

Take care and thanks again!

Laura, Bob, Ross, Leah + Sparkie (the dog)


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, Monday 8th to Friday 12 July

Our three day stay has gone by in a flash. This is our second visit and it won’t be our last!

The lodge is wonderfully located and very well equipped. The welcome pack is second to none. As is the welcome from Ingrid and Han. Such wonderful hosts, Ingrid goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and at home. She is also a brilliant ‘flower arranger’. We are going home fully relaxed after a fabulous visit, Thank you with every good wish.

Joy Lupton


***** 

Oystercatcher Lodge, Friday 21st June

Thank you for another fantastic stay. Now we have two favourite lodges.

A lovely relaxing stay in perfect surroundings and back to reality tomorrow.

Holly, the dog, loved her stay too and all her special treats and toys. We all had everything we needed and more!! Even the weather was perfect. Thank you again and we will be back soon. Love,

Karen, Bob, Amy, Hannah and Holly the dog


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, Monday 8th July,

Wonderful stay – family get together for my 70th  from 3 corners of the globe. Everything we needed. Nothing to much trouble for you. Beautiful lodge, so well equipped and clean. Beds a delight! Once again, thank you.

Norma Jones & family


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 7th June – 13th June

Had a lovely well chilled break. Ingrid and Han have been so welcoming. The welcome pack was a fantastic idea and so thoughtful was the dog treats personalized for them. I only booked with 3 dogs but took a rescue dog last minute and Ingrid was very accommodating about this. Loved the dog shower for after muddy walks. Our weather wasn’t the best but it didn’t matter. This place is stunning. Ingrid and Han had thought of everything you will need to make you feel at home – even down to dog bowls, towels and brushes. Hopefully we will be back in September.

Love and best wishes, Cheryl, Colin, Millie, Tia, Ricco and Roo.


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 31 May to 7 June

Thank you for the very warm welcome and initial tour of Oystercatcher Lodge. Without doubt, it has everything you need and the welcome pack for exceeds anything we have ever had before. You really do not need to bring anything with you and it’s certainly the lightest we have ever travelled!

The weather has been perfect except for one afternoon and into the evening. We have thoroughly enjoyed sitting out almost every evening watching the wonderful views and this will remain in our memory forever. Thank you both for making this such a fantastic holiday. We wish you all the very best for the future and look forward to see you again some time.

Tim, Angela, Esme (the GSD)

PLEASE NOTE: Tim left a longer 5*review on Tripadvisor


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 24-31 May

We have all had an awesome stay and love the views of the river. I love sitting on the deck with my Kindle and relaxing. Everything for the dogs was so nice and thoughtful. They have been enjoying the treats. I love how it’s always so warm inside and the beds and sofas are so comfortable.

Sarah, Chris, Joy, Michael, Bea, Edward and Imogen.
And Flora, Corrie and Milo the dogs


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 17 - 24 May

Ingrid & Han,

Just sitting here on the last night of our stay at Riverdale Lodges and wishing our holiday was just starting! We have really had a wonderful week with you and can’t thank you enough for your kindness. The lodge is beautiful, the quality of everything in the place is second to none that we have previously visited.

The special little touches that welcomed us when we arrived were fantastic, the welcoming groceries, the little treats for Maizie, our 4 legged baby, she loved them. She found the bed so cosy and sat watching the river, in it.

The scenery and surroundings here are breathtaking and we have had a wonderful, relaxing week. We have been blessed with lovely weather also. Ingrid and Han are the perfect hosts and made us so welcome. Thank you both so much. We will be so sorry to leave tomorrow but as they say: all good things come to an end, and we must return home.

We wish the people that follow us here today a really wonderful holiday in Oystercatcher and Ingrid and Han all the best for the future. You are both so lovely. We look forward to return soon,

Kevin, Kath and Maizie Colley. 


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 10-17 May

This has been a wonderful holiday - one of the best! The lodge is simply beautiful - everything and more. Lovely personal touches and every luxury you could wish for. The perfect holiday for dogs and dog lovers. My baby was relaxed and happy and loved the treats, toys and gorgeous bed. I cannot fault this stay in any way. 5 stars! *****

And last but not least, thank you Ingrid and Han for looking after us so well. We shall certainly be back. I have fallen in love with this special place.

Liz and Bonnie x
Tracy and Cora x

And sunshine all day every day


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 3rd May - 6th May 2019

Thank you for a lovely stay in Oystercatcher. The lodge is extremely luxurious and has everything you need. The welcome pack is a lovely touch and very comprehensive. Molly and Meg loved their welcome pack too and tucked straight into their treats.

The lodges are extremely dog friendly with everything you could need and they both had a lovely time and settled in straight away and loved the decking area to be able to watch the river.

Beds are one of the comfiest have ever slept in and had great night’s sleep.
Great location with walks right on the doorstep, one into the village, with two lovely pubs and shop, we climbed up the Marmion Tower also with great views, and one along the river and woods as recommended.

Alison, Danny, Molly & Meg


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 2 May

A huge thank you! We have had the most fabulous week in Oystercatcher celebrating our anniversary, from start with your personal welcome to leaving with fabulous pictures and memories. The lodge is 5* plus with the most amazing views from all windows. There has been so much thought and attention to make us feel home from home, nothing has been forgotten. Could go on and on and on but its all been said in all reviews. Feel like we have had a week a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Yet so connected 5 mins from lodge to main roads to visit the many locations around.

Again a sincere thank you. We will be back for Christmas (already booked) if not before.

Cloud (our demanding Husky) also says woof to a dogs dream life. Loved the river walk every morning to local store to pick up paper. He has been so settled and comfy on his hol in lodge.

Thank you very much for our hand delivered gift for our anniversary even though it was a Sunday! Special touch made our break even more special. Our best wishes for the coming months, see you at Christmas!

Love,
Carole, Les and Cloud


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 22 April

Thank you for a wonderful time in Oystercatcher. We didn’t want to leave so we didn’t!! Thank you Ingrid for arranging an extra night for us at such short notice.

The lodge, the setting, the attention to detail and the incredible hospitality is what makes Riverdale Lodges extra special. Dogs loved it as much as we did and we will certainly return.

Annette, Gavin, kids and dogs


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 19 April

Thank you for the care and detail you have put into Riverdale Lodges, they are perfect. We have had such a lovely time and could never tire of the amazing view or location.
Our Newfoundlander Ferris has loved the porch and has spent every opportunity making the most of it.

To say the lodges are dog friendly is an understatement. You are very ‘dog welcoming’ rather than dog tolerant as most places are.

Our three grandchildren have loved the freedom of just being able to play outside and the ice cream party was another lovely touch and great success. Just wish we could stay longer but we will be without doubt back.

Steve, Janet, Oscar, Lucas, Isabelle and of course Ferris


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 14 April

Our stay at the Oystercatcher Lodge has been incredible. The position of the lodge is idyllic, the sight and sound of the river is truly something special.

The lodge was well equipped and extremely comfortable, with lots of outdoor space for children and dogs alike to play. The Oystercatcher facilities were to an extremely high specification. The beds were super comfy and ensured a restful nights sleep.

A welcome pack was provided which went above and beyond our expectations, this catered to the needs of all the family including our four legged friends Jess and Frank. There were many small extra touches which are a testament to Ingrid and Han’s attention to detail. We are really grateful for this!

The lodge is perfectly situated for many adventures and walks. Walks provided lots of stimulation ans surprises for all the family. We spent many afternoons wildlife spotting, stimming stones in the river and exploring the local terrain.

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your fantastic lodge! We would love to return in the near future.

Scott, Gemma, Jess, Brook, Robyn, Megan,
‘Jess-dog’ and ‘Frank’


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 25 March – 1 April

A great big Thank-you! Our week in the Oystercatcher Lodge has been absolutely amazing!! We were both truly overwhelmed, the lodge has everything! Your welcoming truly personal, you made us feel so very welcome, your attention to detail is perfect. We truly felt like we were home. The welcome package is a credit to you, it goes above and beyond all expectation. The lodge is so cozy and relaxing, totally stress free! The sound of the passing river is soothing and pleasant and the view is amazing, breathtaking.
Our two little Yorkshire Terriers loved it, you made them feel special, the dog treats were a great touch!

We will be back soon!!!
You are the perfect hosts, in the perfect setting.

Helen and Robert, Hollie and Daisy


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 24 March

Thank you for a great weekend at Oystercatcher. It’s a beautiful cabin. We loved the views and the decking area. We had great fun exploring the river. I kept an eye on flood levels* for you, no problems! We love it here and are looking forward to coming to stay again.

Ed, Jo and Thomas (age 3)

drawing by Thomas, us throwing stones in the river 

(* Ed’s profession: flood defence)


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 21 March

We can’t thank you enough for having such a beautiful well equipped lodge in absolutely gorgeous surroundings! Your welcome pack was superb with plenty to tempt the taste buds on arrival after our journey here. The lovely welcoming flowers and personal welcoming message greeted us as we entered this lodge. Scooby and Ruby’s eyes lit up when we came across their personalized jar of special treats! The dog/boot shower room was superb after some of those muddy walks.

We usually go abroad around this time of year but decided this year we would enjoy some of our own country with our dogs and we are so glad we did!

Thank you both again for being amazing hosts! We will definitely recommend you and hopefully see you again sometime with Ruby and Scooby and maybe our little grandson!

Jan, Ross, Ruby and Scooby
Thank you for the lovely book too x


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 03.03.2019

What can I say. This weekend meant the world to me. My first experience of the Grouse Moor with Ebby. To find you and Riverdale Lodges has made the experience even more special.

Ian and Sophie had somewhere beautiful and comfortable to stay, whilst I worked Ebby.

I could come ‘home’ to somewhere I could relax, take a marvelous shower and just enjoy. Your kindness with the extra things you offered and helped us with were truly appreciated (lifts and flasks)

And thank you also for the really lovely book.

You’ve definitely left your mark and next time we are in Yorkshire you’ll be our first port of call.

Niki, Ian and Sophie


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 24.02.2019

We have had the most amazing stay at Riverdale Lodges. We don’t want to leave. The location is perfect for exploring everything N. Yorks has to offer.

The lodge has everything you need for the most relaxing stay. The extra’s provided for dogs is a lovely touch.

We will be back soon!

Charlotte, Steven, Cassius & Jonah


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 14.01.2019

Thank you both for a wonderful stay at your beautiful lodges. We arrived late due to work commitments and we were met with a warm friendly smile from Ingrid. The lodge was cozy and so very well equipped with everything we needed to make our stay very comfortable.

The welcome package of goodies goes above and beyond expectations.

The area is lovely and quaint and very friendly.

The view from the lodge is simply amazing and a beautiful thing to wake up in the morning.

Thanks again to you both. We will definitely be back in the future. Keep up the hard work, you deserve the rewards that I’m sure will be coming your way

Julie and Clive


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 21 -28 December, Christmas

We have just had the most wonderful and relaxing Christmas break in your stunning lodge and your hospitality and attention to detail was second to none.

The facilities in the lodge are truly amazing and he personal touches made it even more special.

This is the first time our family has spent Christmas away from home and we were not disappointed. You had decorated the lodge beautifully and it felt just like home.

Thank you so much for all the little treats for the dogs. Maggie and Willow have loved their week away and the walks along the river are spectaculair.

You really created the most wonderful holiday park and we will most definitely be returning

Thanks again and see you soon again.

The Schumacher family


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 5.11.2018

WHAT A GREAT FIND!
We had so many boxes to tick for October half term but leaving it as late as we did, there was little chance left and we were on the brink of giving up and stay at home, when we found Riverdale Lodges - not Riverside or Riverview or other names you come across - they are new, dog friendly, although we didn’t bring one, set right alongside the River Ure where there is a great walk (the loop) to the 2 pubs in West Tanfield and a shorter walk back down the single track road to the lodges.
I have never been anywhere before with such a great welcome pack!
Well done to Ingrid, who was on hand if we needed her, and the welcoming touches were much appreciated - Oystercatcher is so well furnished and comfortable, it’s only a matter of time before they will shoot up the search engine and everyone will find them far more easily.
We will return, if we can get in!

Lynda B.


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 26.10.2018

Dear Ingrid & Han

Thank you so much for all your care and attention during our stay. We had a wonderful time in your beautiful lodge. The setting is to die for and we would love to return. Wes really enjoyed his first holiday although he did get stung by a wasp! (he soon recovered though)

The attention to detail in the lodge really enhanced our stay together with the comprehensive welcome pack. This is self catering holidays at its best.

Chris was amazed we all managed to keep the secret of our ‘additional guests’. Again thank you for your part in that.

Sally, Chris, Emily and Callum

And of course Wes, the Cockapoo


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 30.09.2018

We loved our stay at Riverdale Lodges. If you are looking for a dog-friendly holiday, it doesn’t get better than this. Plenty of stunning walks right from the lodge, a fenced in area for the dogs to run around in plis swimming in the River Ure and a lodge that has got everything that you can possibly need (dog bed, towels, bowls, etc.). To top it all off there is a hot water shower for the dog. so you can clean the dog after a long walk before going to the pub. Talking about pubs, there is a great dog-friendly pub at walking distance from the lodge. Loving every second of our holiday and can’t recommend Riverdale Lodges enough!

Bianca, Paul and Munsterlander Mika


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 20.09.2018

Dear Ingrid & Han

We have had a wonderful week staying in your beautiful lodge. The river in front is amazing. Your hospitality amazing. So helpful and the welcome you gave us so lovely.

Everything in the Lodge so well thought out and the welcome pack so nice.
Eddie was welcomed and treats for him so nice.
Lots of nice walks nearby and lots to see.

Once again, thank you!

Sue, Phil, Josie, Roger + Goldie Eddie


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 14.09.2018

Dear Ingrid+Han

We thank you for your lovely welcome and all the thoughtful details of Oystercatcher, this has made our stay very special.

Our lovely puppy really enjoyed living here for a few days and we saw him change and mature. The river and walks have been perfect for him. All of the dog treats, shower and facilities make this a special place…and your understanding of the wants, needs, peculiaraties of a Large Munsterlander is great for us.

We have loved the opportunity to explore the Dales and have felt really relaxed.
One of the nicest places we have stayed (and we have travelled a lot…)
Otto will miss the fuss. Thank you so much for a memorable and happy stay.

Jan & Tony and Otto


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 26.08.2018

We have had the most fabulous stay! Thank you for all your hospitality

Our stay in Oystercatcher has been so perfect, from cups of tea on the deck watching a family of deer come to the river for their breakfast, to evening walks along the riverbank where the dogs swam and the kids paddled in the water.

Everything in the lodge was so well thought of. We all felt we were straight at home and so sad to leave! We could’ve easily stayed for the rest of the summer. Rowan and Lady have lived in the lap of luxury and they definetely want to come back as we all!

Thank you so much again.

Tim, Jo, Hannah, Caleb, Elijah, Matthew, Liberty and the dogs Rowan, Lady


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 19.8.2018

Thank you for a wonderful stay. It was just the tonic we all needed!

We sadly have to leave our beautiful lodge – a definite home away from home. The welcome pack is the most comprehensive I’ve ever seen – you have literally thought of everything! What was the most special was all of the extra special touches you made which really made us feel welcome. You should be immensely proud of what you have achieved and we wish you all the very best for the future!

Our cheeky chappy Bobby has had a whale of a time – I’m not sure how he will take it once we’re home and he can no longer patrol the decking on a daily basis! Never mind us soaking in the gorgeous river views!

Without a doubt we’ll be back again – and already planning our next trip!

Nichola, Paul, Mandy, Craig, Kirsten & Bobby (the cheeky chappy)

Nichola also left a review on Tripadvisor (see the pictures on top of this page).


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 10.8.2018

Thank you for making us welcome at the Oystercatcher. We have all really enjoyed our stay, the lodge itself couldn’t be any better. We much appreciate your friendly welcoming and would love to visit again. The dog loved the lodge too and thoroughly enjoyed her treat.

Family Wood


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 6.8.2018

Thank you for making us so welcome. We have had a wonderful relaxing week. The view is amazing and would never tire of it.

The lodge is a home from home and you have thought of everything.

It is ideally placed to visit so many places, which we have done!

Steve, Mandy and Tilly dog!


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 20.7.2018

We all had a lovely stay. The lodge was wonderful and well equipped. In a beautiful setting. It had great WiFi. Elvis (dog) really enjoyed swimming in the river every morning.

Great to be able to walk to two pubs and the village shop. The beds were really comfortable and warm.

Helen, Steven, Michael, Annabelle & Elvis the dog


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 10.06.2018

Thank you for sharing your beautiful lodge with us!

We had a great week relaxing, watching nature and enjoying the fantastic views and with the great decking the lodge is perfectly set to take advantage of the sun. We had guests to stay with us for a night and all had a fantastic time.

It’s a rare treat to find such a gem and beautiful spot and to enjoy it as if it were our own.

Best wishes, Mr + Mrs Macdonald


*****

Oystercatcher Lodge, 01.06.2018

The lodge was very comfy and had a lovely view. It was really easy to get to different places. Having the walk nearby is great because you can walk to The Bull Inn. The river is really nice because it makes a lovely sound and background for the lodge. The bedrooms were fine and the beds were really comfy. The decking is nice because when the sun came out it was lovely, the chairs were really comfy and you could sunbath while listening to the river!
We had a great stay.

Thank you,
Genevieve (9 years)

Genevieve wrote her comment as the very first guest of Riverdale Lodges, even before we had a guestbook. That's why it is taped in on to the first page.