LAPWING LODGE

Reviews September 2018 - July 2019 (most recent first)

Please find here the complete content of our Guest Book for Lapwing Lodge, plus a few reviews published by our guests on public sites such as Google and Tripadvisor. By the end of July 2019 we had gathered 15 reviews, unanimously 5 star rated. Also have a look at the guests’ reviews on our Facebook Page (now called ‘recommendations’ by Facebook) and go to SEE ALL REVIEWS to read the reviews of the other 3 lodges too.

 

*****

Lapwing Lodge, 15-25 July

What a lovely holiday we’ve had! We booked Lapwing after a great deal of research, looking for somewhere we could be relaxed about having our golden retriever Jack on holiday with us.
Boy, did we pick well!

Ingrid and Han have made us all feel so welcome, with a fantastic welcome pack for us all – Jack was thoroughly spoilt! The lodge is just lovely, with high quality features and fittings, comfy beds and more throws to help us feel relaxed than you find at John Lewis! We’ve spent a fabulous 12 days exploring the area, including our daughter Eilidh galloping through the Masham countryside on a gorgeous pony! I can’t recommend Riverdale Lodges highly enough – 5* are not enough.

Andy, Rhona, Eilidh and Jack from Aberdeen 


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 5-15 July

Probably the most dog friendly accomodation we have stayed in and we have stayed in quite a few. The humans are not forgotten either, with Ingrid and Han providing a highly personal service. We had just about given up having a holiday, the first with our 1 year old Charlie + Ollie, when Riverdale Lodges popped up on my Facebook page. For once a most useful Facebook pop-up. All that was promised on the website has been delivered in spades.

Riverdale Lodges has been a great find in an area we enjoy visiting. The Lodge and all fittings are first class, providing everything we needed plus more. We go home refreshed and hope to visit again. Thank you,

Marilyn, Dennis, Charlie and Ollie from South Cumbria


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 21-28 June

Wow, what can we say, but ‘thank you’ for letting us stay in Lapwing Lodge. Everything you need, clean and tidy. Thank you Han for getting us extra doggie towels for our German Shephards Yogi and Blaise, they loved the water and running in the fields when it was wet. Thank you for the doggie treats but unfortunately they couldn’t have them, they have left them for some other doggies to enjoy! We loved the walks and the steam train ride to Whitby. We will be back in the future and would be recommending it to our friends. The hamper was very much appreciated when we arrived.

Thank you again from Derek, Maria, Yogi and Blaise


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 14-16 June

What a lovely site to find! The cabin is immaculate clean, warm and every little home comfort has been thought of for a true home-away-from-home experience. Max and Romona enjoyed the dog walks and the doggie treats Ingrid provided where well received. As was the large bowl of fruit and welcome hamper provided, for the humans, on the first night, when we hadn’t thought to shop first! I would highly recommend the Wensleydale Heifer in Wensleydale for Sunday lunch. As London foodies we were more than just a little impressed. The Dales are breathtaking. I would love to come back, just to paint it. Thank you Ingrid and Han for a five star service. You are a 5 star plus! We will be back and we will recommend to our family and friends. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Richard, Jennie, Max and Romona


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 3-6 May

What a fabulous time we have had at Lapwing Lodge. Riverdale Lodges are in a beautiful tranquil location next to the river, surrounded by beautiful countryside and birdsong. Lapwing has every home comfort and the welcome hamper was much appreciated; Molly also loved her treats and toys!

We visited Ripon, Masham, Brymer icecrea, watched the Tour de Yorkshire and ate fabulous food at the dog friendly Bruce Arms (Masham) and Freemasons Arms (Nosterfield). We feel like we have had a proper relaxing break, even though we’ve only been here for a weekend and hope we can come back agaian before too long!

Thank you Ingrid, it has been the perfect way to celebrate Grandma’s 80th and your thoughful touches are much appreciated.

The Gunshon family, Grandma and Molly (on her 1st holiday)

 


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 21st April

A wonderful stay in Lapwing Lodge – thank you! I was brought up in the area soi it is always interesting to see how Yorkshire develops. I would say that the lodges are in keeping to the village and importantly family and dog friendly. Ingrid was most helpful with helping me organize this visit, every detail covered! We most definitely will return, most likely at Christmas where we know our four legged friends will be as spoilt as us! Thank you

Love, the McCracken family!


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 12-19 April

Such a delightful treasure of a place to stay! Desperate for a last minute Easter break with three border collies – this was a perfect find! Such a joy to find quality accommodation that also caters for dogs with no hidden costs. Normally you book accomodation, get taxed for taking dogs and receive nothing that helps to make a dog’s stay more comfortable. Not here!
We have thoroughly enjoyed all the personal touches for humans and canines. Ingrid and Han are perfect hosts - so professional & caring. Everything is thought of and some lovely extra special touches & surprises.
We arrived to pristine accommodation, comfortable, warm and lovely welcome goodies! We have also been blessed with beautiful weather and enjoyed stunning walks. Thank you for making our week very special. We will recommend! A blissful week.
Many many thanks.

Vicky, Rich, Georgina, James, Meg, Oscar and Twig Berry from Maidenhead.

Highlights: - warm dog shower - lovely clean dog beds - grain free treats - dog towels - comfortable quality human beds.


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 25-29 March 2019

We booked Lapwing Lodge as a last minute short break and it has been wonderful. The lodge is beautiful and so clean and tidy. There was the added luxury of all the doggy things provided and Gracie loved the dog treats. The hamper of goodies and fruit was a lovely treat. The views from the balcony were lovely and relaxing, just what we needed. It was heaven for Gracie to have the freedom of so many places to walk straight from the door.
We visited Hackfall Wood to explore some more which was delightful.

Ingrid and Han were very welcoming hosts and explained everything we needed to know. The dog wash room was an added bonus and came in very handy. We will definitely be back for longer next time.
Thank you,

Emma, Ladas, + Gracie


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 16-23 February

We have stayed at Lapwing Lodge for one week at half term with our two girls 10 & 8.

The lodge is beautiful, very comfy and clean with lots of thoughtful extras that make this a very relaxing holiday.

The views and location are spectacular. We relaxed at the lodge and local area and also visited lots of lovely places nearby such as Fountain Abbey and Brimham Rocks.

Highly recommended for a quiet but interesting family break with plenty to do in a beautiful location and very high standard accommodation.

Ingrid and Han have been very welcoming and helpful.

Bronagh, Stephen, Niamh and Orla


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 21-28 December

We booked Lapwing Lodge for Christmas week as we wanted to have a quiet Christmas away with the dog, relaxing and exploring the area. Upon arrival we found the lodge beautifully decorated ready for Christmas with a tree and various other beautiful decorations for Christmas.

There was also personalised treat jar for Mieke, a welcome hamper for us and a lovely message on the blackboard.

Ingrid and Han were very welcoming and made us feel comfortable, they were very helpful by showing us around the lodge and the facilities (dog wash room), which became very useful during the week, after being out on muddy walks with the dog.

The lodge itself is immaculate with a very homely feel and all mod-cons, and even a selection of books and local guides under the coffee table.

Would highly recommend Riverdale Lodges and we will definitely be back in the future.

Nick, Lisa and Mieke


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 26.10.2018

We booked Lapwing Lodge at Riverdale Lodges as a last-minute holiday and we were not disappointed. The lodge was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Everything was of high quality and comfort, a real home from home. Everything you could possibly need was already there. The welcome pack was so well thought out. Even down to special dog treats for Tess.
Ingrid & Han were such lovely friendly hosts, even suggesting walks straight from our lodge door. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The area is so peaceful with abundant wildlife. We were lucky enough to see a Kingfisher whilst on one of the river walks.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and will definitely recommend Riverdale to our friends and family. Hopefully we will be back again soon.

Thanks again, Love, Neil, Carol & Tess
xxx


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 22.09.2018

Thank you for our wonderful stay at your lodge. Nothing was to much trouble for you. The lodge was outstanding and all the little touches were wonderful.
All the best in your venture.

Regards,

Frances, Jack, Roxy, Scamp + Ben
xxx


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 31.8.2018

After booking last minute we were certainly impressed by the sheer luxe of Lapwing Lodge. The service and hospitality of Ingrid and her husband was impeccable – thank you.

The boys enjoyed their walks along the river Ure and snuggled down on their beds in the evenings.

The hamper was a wonderful and thoughtful addition when we arrived. The finishes of the Lodge were exceptional and we will be highly recommending these lodges to our friends and family.

Fountain Abbey was a memorable adventure as was visiting the Black Sheep brewery and seeing Masham. Recommend the delightful pub The Bull Inn in West Tanfield with its beautiful beer garden, overlooking the river. This break has been truly restful and very restorative, with the surrounding quiet apart from the noises of nature. Thank you for a truly memorable stay.

Fondest regards,

Angie, Lyn, Theo & Max


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 27.08.2018

Thank you so much for such an unexpected beautiful stay at Lapwing Lodge! Molly dog has been well and truly spoilt – she’s particularly enjoyed her jummy doggy treats! The lodge has everything you need and then some and the setting is a bonus. The lovely welcome hamper was much needed when we had forgotten to look out for a shop on the way and we had fun playing the board games provided on our first night. We’ve explored the local area (but know there is much more to see). We would recommend the ‘7 bridges valley walk’ at Fountains Abbey. When it’s rained we’re enjoying watching films on Netflix and listening to the sound of the river at night.

We look forward to coming back for our ‘Molly-day’ very soon and hope future guests enjoy their stay just as much as we did!

The Killingbecks


*****

Lapwing Lodge, 24.08.2018

Thank you for a fabulous week in your gorgeous lodge! We’ve had a wonderful family time exploring this part of Yorkshire. The lodge was perfect for our family with lots of lovely touches. The welcome hamper included lots of goodies.

With thanks, family Kelly (the ‘try-out team’)