KINGFISHER LODGE

Reviews August 2018 - July 2019 (most recent first)

Please find here the complete content of our Guest Book for Oystercatcher Lodge, plus a few reviews published by our guests on public sites such as Google and Tripadvisor. By the end of July 2019, we had gathered 21 reviews for Kingfisher Lodge, unanimously 5 star rated. Also have a look at the guests’ reviews on our Facebook Page (now called ‘recommendations’ by Facebook) and go to SEE ALL REVIEWS to read the reviews of the other 3 lodges too.

*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 12-19th July

Thank you so much for providing us with a week of total relaxation in a fantastic lodge in amazing surroundings. We loved the personal touches, the welcome board, personalized doggie treats for Alfie and Carlie, the extensive welcome hamper and the vase of fresh flowers and the bog bowl of fresh fruit.

Kingfisher lodge is just like a home from home and we didn’t want for anything.

The park itself is just the perfect place for dogs, being able to take them out off the lead which they loved.

We have done lodge holidays for several years  now and this is by far the best we have experienced. Ingrid and Han go above and beyond in making your stay perfect. A massive thank you for providing such a wonderful place.

Virginia, Bernard, Alfie & Charlie (Labs)


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 27 June-5 July

Thank you for the lovely welcome to Kingfisher lodge. Everything has been just perfect. Probably the best equipped, cleanest self catering accomodation we have ever stayed in. It’s better than home – everything is spotless and works!

We have loved the river views and have spotted Kingfishers three times. We have visited Thorpe Perrow Arboretum, Harlow Carr gardens, the World of Harriot in Thirsk, Castle Howard, Yorkshire Lavender and have even gone alpaca trekking at Beccon Alpaca. All excellent. We have had a wonderful time and we will be back! Thank you for the beautiful book!

Denise and Raymond Hunter, Jasper and Jacob


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 3-7 June

We are so pleased we found Riverdale Lodges. Kingfisher Lodge is just beautiful! Set in an idyllic spot by the river – so peaceful. Ingrid, you have been the perfect host from start to finish, so pleasant and helpful. There is nothing you haven’t thought of when equiping the lodge with so many lovely little touches to make us feel at home.

Kingfisher Lodge is just perfect for relaxing both, inside and out. Lovely beds and furnishing throughout.

There are lots of lovely villages and towns to visit, both near and far – Masham, Ripon, Pateley Bridge, Skipton (lovely), Thirsk.

We will certainly be recommending Riverdale Lodges to our friends – quite an exceptional place and quite the perfect spot for a break!

Thank you so much and hope to retun one day!

Christine, Robert, Stuart and Fiona

P.S. thank you so much for the beautiful flower arrangement and the lovely book of Yorkshire


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 27 May-2 June

We have had a wonderful, relaxing, enjoyable stay in Kingfisher Lodge. From the initial email to Ingrid she couldn’t have been more helpful. The lodge is absolutely beautiful and Ingrid has thought of everything and more for a perfect stay. The dogs have had a lovely time with the lovely beds, grand walks and water!! And not forgetting the treats: all gone!

Thank you so much and we will be returning for sure

Lynn, Keith, James, Jenny, Dave.
And spaniels Molly, Bella, Chez and Nala 


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 13-17 May

Hello, Rupert Bear here (I’m not a bear, I’m actually a dog)

As all our holidays are chosen with mine and Phoebe Retriever’s preferences in mind, I’ve been asked to ‘rate’ Riverdale Lodges: for dog friendliness I will give a 5* rating. I enjoyed being free to run around the whole park without a lead and to socialise with doggie neighbours, who I was delighted to entertain on the terrace.

Phoebe had a lovely time splashing around in the conveniently located river and availing herself of the shower block facilities.

We both loved the spacious terrace which allowed us to run in and out when the fancy took us without waiting for humans to open the door.

Excellent local walks and attractions and top notch treats! We were provided with posh dog beds. Would return? In the wag of a tail!

Small space for humans to comment:

Absolutely luxurious accomodation in an idyllic setting…and lots of delightful little touches to make you feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for Ingrid and Han (not even the Mediterranean weather for our stay). Everyone is made to feel like a special guests. Sorry we have to go!

Gerry, Haworth


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 22-19 April

A perfect, peaceful and idyllic place! The Lodge is just wonderful, a real home from home with everything you need and detail thought of. The welcome pack of essentials goes well beyond the ‘norm’ and is another special touch that makes Riverdale outstanding.

Our dogs were so welcomed and to say it’s a dog friendly place seems inadaquate, the jar of treats, the bowls, blankets, towels and beds (if needed). Walks from the lodge were superb too, doggy heaven and Ingrid a doggy whisperer!!

We have truly loved our week in Kingfisher and can’t wait to come again. Thank you Ingrid and Han for being such great hosts. We wish you every success in the future of Riverdale but have the feeling that anyone who visits will want to come again and again. Thank you also for the wonderful book, we were so very touched by your thoughfulness. Untill we return!

Paul and Sarah, Ozzie, Lily, Florence, Moley


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 22nd - 29th March 2019

Dear Ingrid,
Thank you for a quiet and relaxing holiday in a superb location. I came across your website purely by accident, read the amazing reviews and contacted you from there.
Right from the word go communication with yourself regarding the booking has been first class. We arrived late on the Friday evening keeping you updated on our arrival time. You were waiting at the lodge to greet us. On arrival you knew all our names which was a very personal touch. You showed us where everything was and how to change the settings in the lodge if needed. We were all made to feel very welcome. Alfie, the Golden Retriever, was on his first holiday and has absolutely, as they say, “had a ball”! Millie, the six year old was thrilled with the teddy bear you gave her to colour.

Never have we stayed anywhere with such an extensive welcome pack (milk, eggs, butter, crisps, biscuits, fruit, juice, etc) the list is endless. As it says on the Riverdale Lodges website, just bring yourselves and all the bits and pieces you could possibly use are in your lodge.

The area has plenty of nice walks and a small village to wander around. You will be ideally located to visit Harrogate, Ripon, Thirsk, York, and Fountains Abbey, to name a few places.

If you are thinking of booking a holiday at Riverdale Lodges, do not hesitate as I am 100% sure once word spreads about this site and its wonderful owners that it will be difficult to secure a booking for the week you require.

Ingrid and Han, wishing you all the very best for the future as you truly deserve it.

Yours sincerely,
Sue, Jay, and the rest of the clan
(Greenway/Taylor families)


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, March 4

Thank you so much for creating such a wonderful place. The lodge is so welcoming, down to the wonderful welcome hamper + the exquisite dog treats.

Ingrid, you made it clear nothing was too much trouble and thank you for that.

A wonderful dog friendly place, dogs are made so welcome, allowed to be off lead around the park was so unexpected and most welcome.

The fact that you both made a point at calling to wish me a Happy Birthday shows how thoughtful you are and a huge thank you for the birthday Prosecco! Very kind of you!

The lodge itself is a complete home from home, you really thought about providing everything + the bed was so  comfortable.

Wishing you lots of success for the future and hopefully we will return soon.

Greta and Pippa


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 14-22 Feb

WOW! What a fantastic place this is. From the booking experience & communication to find out about what we needed for the dogs, to the welcome explaining how everything works & the welcome pack of essentials and goodies. Everything has been thought of to ensure a relaxing break. The cabins are beautifully decorated with homely touches and perfectly clean. As people who work long hours and shifts we like to relax and spend time with our dogs when we are away and Kingfisher Lodge and its location was just perfect for us.

We walked our 4 Cocker Spaniels daily along the river. They spent time in and out of the water, then scrambled up the muddy banks so the dog wash facility was a godsend for us  - a fantastic idea. The dogs preferred it to the usual cold hose down they get on other places.

Ingrid was more than happy for our friends and their baby to visit us during our stay. We took them and the dogs to the Bull Inn for lunch – dogs welcomed but have to sit near the bar which was a bit tricky with 4 but the food was excellent.

We visited Ripon for a couple of hours – the dogs wanted to go to the Pet Shop for supplies! Lovely shops, worth a visit.

We can’t wait to come back in June and stay in Curlew (Kingfisher was booked or we would be back here). I’m sure we will book up again very soon. 1st class, peaceful, great views.

Thanks again for a great stay.

The Gordons

PLEASE NOTE: you will find a longer 5* review by Lisa G. about Kingfisher Lodge on Tripadvisor.


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 31 Dec - 4 Jan

What a blissful start to the New Year, 2019! It is so lovely to be back, this time with twinkly fairy lights and beautiful Christmas decorations.

We asked for nice weather and Ingrid and Han did not disappoint! It’s been beautiful!

There is so much to do locally, suitable for the children and the dogs. We loved Brimham rocks and the local walks have been perfect. Everyone has felt refreshed and peaceful.

The kitchen is so well stocked. We’ve been able to make pancakes for breakfast and the children have been able to do baking because all the necessary equipment is here, even a electric whisk!

The beds are so comfy! The dogs evidently love theirs too!

Thank you Ingrid and Han for yet another beautiful, relaxing break

Nikki, Joe, Ben, Daisy, Hollie, Amelia, Bella, Gizmo and Pixie!


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 27-31 December

Kingfisher, what a lovely start. We were met by Ingrid with the most wonderful welcome of welcomes. She had thought of everything. Not only for my children and wife but our Cocker Spaniel Billy as well. We loved it here for four days and nights in a most beautiful, quiet spot. Billy loved the walks along the river and so did we. My daughter loved her room. She said she felt like a princess and we struggled to get her out in the mornings because she was so comfy in her bed. Probably quite normal for a teenager but worse than normal. Brilliant from start to finish for us all.

Andrew, Ann, Lucy, William, Billy


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 10.12.2018

Well what a lovely relaxing break we have had. We were met by Ingrid and made to feel very welcome. The lovely little touches, welcome message on black board, treats for dogs with their names on and water already in their bowls inside and out.
The lodge is so peaceful and comfortable with anything you could possibly need. Thank you for our welcome pack and everything in the fridge.
This is heaven for our dogs and they loved it.
The whole place was so clean and the beds and pillows so comfortable.
Nothing was any trouble to Ingrid and we really appreciate her explaining everything and information about walks.
We were so lucky with the sunshine too in December.

We will be back, thank you again.

Di, Colin,
Ollie, Daisy & Lottie
xxx

See you next year


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 09.11.2018
(COPIED FROM GOOGLE REVIEWS)

November 2018, Kingfisher Lodge; Had a wonderful week. Easy to use website, smooth booking and payment process, was sent driving directions and a personal welcome by the owner. Arrived to a stocked fridge, lots of towels and toiletries, free WiFi - even dog treats and toys. The lodge and surrounding area is stunning. The owners are so friendly and it was such a pleasant change from all of the other places we’ve stayed. It was ideal and stress free for us and our two dogs. Everything was better than anything we could have expected and hoped for. Worth every penny. The lodge has all of the amenities you could need and the plush furnishings and fancy finishing touches made it even better. LOVED the peace and quiet and being a super dog-friendly holiday park was what we wanted and we got so much more. Can’t wait to go back.

Marie and Edward, and the dogs Shirley and Buster

This couple stayed a week at Kingfisher Lodge to escape the fireworks around Bonfire night with their dogs.They liked it so much that they booked another week around New Year, and also booked their stay in 2019! Thanks!


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 07.11.2018

Hi there, just a few words before we go…..what a lovely place and lots of lovely touches. (I loved the birds+butterflies) Slept well last night, and loved the pillows, saw the young owl after we had arrived, when out for a walk with my daughter and dogs. I kept sighing while here as so relaxed and content!

Thank you xx

Marie + Dennis (from Leeds)

Parents of above guests, visiting for a few days


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 29.10.2018

What a beautiful place! The setting is idyllic and even at the end of October we have been able to sit on the deck in the sun and enjoy morning coffee. The river is perfect. It’s so incredibly peaceful.

Being so rural, the sky at night allowed our children to star-gaze. They were delighted to see shouting stars. Day and night, this place is a perfect retreat.

It is so refreshing to find a place that welcomes both dogs and children. In our experience, there are very few places that do this. And, we really were welcomed. Ingrid met us and was delightfully friendly and clearly takes great pride in making everyone feel at home.

We walked in to the lodge to find a blackboard welcoming our family, each by name. The dogs each had their own beds, food bowls and a pot of treats that they loved! The whole place was immaculate and we instantly felt at home. There was milk, jam, butter, bread, a large bowl of fruit and other snacks…brilliant!

We have loved the local walks that are right on the doorstep. We will certainly be returning to explore the area further. York, Harrogate and Ripon are not far away.

Thank you, Ingrid! You are lovely!

Nikki, Joe, Ben, Daisy, Hollie, Amelia

Gizmo, Pixie and Bella!

It’s lovely to know we will now see you all back during the December holidays. Looking forward to it!

*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 24.10.2018

Hi Ingrid,

Many thanks again for such a lovely stay in Kingfisher we had a fantastic couple of days, the lodge was brilliant, had everything we needed, Inca loved it too! Great to know where you are for future visits to Yorkshire. The children were sad we forgot to write in your visitor book! Perhaps you could write a message from us;
‘Many thanks for a wonderful couple of days we all loved staying in Kingfisher especially Inca our lab! A great base to explore from and just a new and fun experience staying in a lodge, we will be back! Becks, Si, Olly, Millie, Lottie and Inca Davidson xx’

Many thanks

Rebekah

This family stayed for a 2-nights break while travelling from Scotland to London during the October school holidays.


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 10.09.2018

Thank you Ingrid for a wonderful weekend. 

The lodge is absolutely perfect in every way and we did not want for anything (nor did Holly the dog - she loved her basket and treats). 
The setting is beautiful with the river running past the door and the fields to the sides. 

It did leave us with a bit of a dilemma - should we tell all our friends and family about it (or keep quiet as it is bit of a hidden gem). 

We will of course be spilling the beans and recommending this little bit of paradise and we will definitely be coming again. 
You even delivered on the weather as it was a gorgeous sunny and warm weekend. 

Thank you again for a lovely weekend. 

Karen, Bob, Amy, Hannah & Holly the dog

We received this entry for our Guest Book on 10 September 2018 by email, to print and add to the book. The family Spink spent the first weekend of September as our guests in Kingfisher Lodge.


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 31.08.2018

Thank you, Ingrid, for a wonderful visit. It is a lovely place and very comfortable for everyone. You seem to have all the right things in place for everyone staying here. Rex thoroughly enjoyed himself as it was his first holiday and everything was provided for him.

There are plenty of excellent walking routes along the river and an excellent little pub over the bridge. The host was very capable and made sure we wanted for nothing. I would certainly look to come again. For those who like their wildlife, there are deer, kingfishers, cranes and locals. Thank you very much for the hard work Ingrid.

This was the perfect little break. We have absolutely loved our time here and will be back.

Matcham and Dalton family


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 26.08.2018

We found this lodge when looking for a late/last minute week away – what an amazing find!

Ingrid and her partner were here to meet us and explain everything. The welcome pack was a lovely detail along with the dog basket of treats. The lodge was comfortable, beautifully appointed and very well equipped. Super setting to chill out, unwind and relax. We absolutely loved it! The village was lovely and the village store had great provisions with friendly owners.

We visited York, walked along the river to the village, had a great day at Thorp Perrow, lovely gardens, lots of animals and bird displays. Our boys loved feeding the wallabies. Fountains Abbey was amazing and we spent hours walking in the grounds of the water gardens, finding the deer and exploring.

Ripon is a gorgeous city. We did the three museums and enjoyed the shops and streets. We had a day out at Lightwater Valley – the boys loved this.

So much still to do in this area, no doubt we will come back and Riverdale Lodges will definitely be our first choice.

Beverly, Simon, Theo, Archie and the dog Seth


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 18.8.2018

This was a great find. The surroundings are beautiful and the standard of accommodation exceptional. Everything that you could want has been provided and more.

We enjoyed sitting out on the gorgeous decking area overlooking the river as it babbled past. Roe deer would visit the river’s edge every day and they were a joy to see.

This will be recommended to our friends and I have no doubt that we will return.

Super place, thank you

Andy, Sandra, Emma, Michelle Bedford


*****

Kingfisher Lodge, 4.08.2018

We feel so lucky to have found this exceptional lodge in the quaint and charming village of West Tanfield.

We had an amazing welcome from Ingrid who ensured that every little detail was covered, even our dog got a welcoming treat!

The setting is wonderful and we spotted a whole host of birds flying and feeding along the river bank, we even saw the Kingfisher, so the lodge is aptly named.

There is something for every age and ability in the area, cycling, walking and sight seeing. A trip to the Brymor ice cream shop is a must, the range of flavours are extremely tempting.

Do visit the Himalayan Gardens in Grewelthorpe, you won’t be disappointed. There are guided walks in the Dales so if you don’t feel like adventuring at yourself take advantage of joining a group walk, local guides are very knowledgeable.

We certainly enjoyed the tranquillity of this exceptional site. I have no doubt we will be back.

Allison and family