CURLEW LODGE

Reviews August 2018 - July 2019 (most recent first)

Please find here the complete content of our Guest Book for Curlew Lodge, plus a few reviews published by our guests on public sites such as Google and Tripadvisor. By the end of July 2019, we had gathered 19 reviews for Curlew Lodge, unanimously 5 star rated. Also have a look at the guests’ reviews on our Facebook Page (now called ‘recommendations’ by Facebook) and go to SEE ALL REVIEWS to read the reviews of the other 3 lodges too.

*****

Curlew Lodge, 22 July

The most perfect stay at the Curlew Lodge, everything was fantastic, welcome pack superb. Micky and Lexie were truly spoilt with their treats and toys. Mum and Dad came for my 50th birthday celebrations for a couple of nights and ended up staying for the whole week. Surrounding areas fantastic, lovely setting for lovely lodges. Ingrid and Han, thank you so much. Your hospitality was superb. Will definitely be returning.

Denise, Derek, Jonathan, Helen, Keith and Mickey, Lexie


*****

Curlew Lodge, 8-12 July

Arrived on Monday to a very warm welcome. The cabin was above and beyond what we expected. Ingrid really went to town on personal touches, including personalised treats for the dogs. From the day we booked Ingrid had been fantastic and made our stay extra special providing all the necessities and more for both the dogs and baby. We would 100% recommend and would definitely return!

Trena, Steve, Rach, Gaz, Louie, Toby, Ollie and Lewis.


*****

Curlew Lodge, 30 July-6 August

Thank you for a wonderful stay, everything has been so perfect. Can’t wait to come back soon.

Juan, Cheryl, Warren, Amanda, Miggy, Dexter, Curly and Leo


*****

Curlew Lodge, 3-6 May

Our family group of 5 had a great stay in Curlew – lovely setting, so well appointed, spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. Everything very well thought out, all we would possibly need for us and our dogs! All in all a wonderful stay. Ingrid and Han made us feel so at home and were so helpful. The extras included are so thoughtful – the hamper, the toiletries, dog toys, the cosy throws, etc. all such lovely touches and very much appreciated. The area is absolutely beautiful too, with wonderful walks along the river and further afield. We had a brilliant day in Malham (highly recommend). Thank you for a fantastic break, we would love to come back again one day – hopefully for longer!

Louise, Martin, Pam, Georgia, Daisy, Brodie and Oban 


*****

Curlew Lodge, 19-22 April

Amazing stay at the Curlew Lodge!

The lodge was beautiful and clean on our arrival. Thank you to Ingrid and Han for their superb hosting skills and for making sure everything was perfect.

Stayed for 3 nights and managed to squeeze in: *Emmerdale set tour, *Bracken Ghyll golf course, *Skipton boat hire, *A trip to the local pub The Bull Inn, *lots of long walks with the dog.

Brilliant weather, great company and a picturesque setting…what more could you ask for!

The Connolly’s and Monty


*****

Curlew Lodge, 15th-19th April

We have just had four nights in Curlew Lodge and WOW!
When we arrived Ingrid was waiting to show us around our lodge - stunning 3 bedrooms, one with an en-suite, family bathroom, all spotlessly clean with plenty of fluffy towels. Everything has been thought of from washing up liquid/dishwasher tablets to cling film and foil. Plenty of kitchen ware unlike a lot of places where you hire a six berth unit and you get just six of everything.

But it’s the extra things like the welcome pack with bread, milk, butter, biscuits, tea, coffee plus loads more, the dog beds, bowls, toys and high quality treats. Riverdale Lodges are truly dog friendly. We’ve never been anywhere where Bruno has been so welcomed. He has loved playing with the dogs in the other lodges.
The wood burner is a lovely touch along with the unlimited supply of logs.

Riverdale Lodges is a beautiful place, the surrounding area and walks are stunning, the sound of the river is so relaxing, the local pub serves lovely food and is very welcoming and also dog friendly.

Nothing is too much trouble for Ingrid and Han, they really do go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.

Jane, Ian, Sophie, Morgan and Bruno


*****

Curlew Lodge, 8-15 April

Spur of the moment booking!

Having returned home from a week in Oystercatcher on 1st April, we had our grandchildren for the holidays. Monday 8th we looked to see if any lodge was vacant. The Curlew was vacant for the week, the others booked. We had enjoyed Oystercatcher so much, we wanted to bring our grandchildren so asked Ingrid, and got Curlew that day, and whilst we loved Oystercatcher, we also fell for Curlew! These lodges for us are just perfect in every way. Ingrid and Han are brilliant hosts! Going the extra mile with every last detail. Our grandchildren enjoyed themselves immensely, learning so much, walking, running, playing outdoors, so much nicer than exercising their thumbs on todays technology/game/phones, lol. We will definitely be returning to the place we call heaven. Home from home Riverdale Lodges!!!
Thank you again, Ingrid and Han.
Best wishes,

Helen + Robert, grandchildren, Hollie + Daisy


*****

Curlew Lodge, 5-8 April 2019

Thank you Ingrid. From start to finish everything has been amazing. Booking was seamless, including personalized directions sent in advance. We chose Curlew as it offered exactly what I needed for our holiday, that included my 13 year old daughter, 18 year old son (who unfortunately couldn’t join us in the end due to work commitments) and my father and our Cockapoo, therefore necessarily a dog friendly lodge with 2 double and one twin bedded rooms.

Beautiful presented lodge, lovely personal touches, just wish we could have stayed longer. Hoping to come back again with the family in the not too distant future. Thank you again for a wonderful weekend!

Best wishes, Denise, Paul, Francesca, Gordon and Cracker 


*****

Curlew Lodge, 25-29 March

A lovely relaxing second visit to Curlew with our 3 hounds. Everything perfect and so well catered for. Exactly what we wanted to quietly celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary while we await the birth of our first baby.

Thank you, Kelly, Ashley, Daisy, Dougal, Dylan + bump x


*****

Curlew Lodge, 22-25 March 2019

Well, this was our second trip back to Riverdale. Last year we stayed in Lapwing. This time we decided to try Curlew. Equally perfect in every way but the extra bonus was the lovely log burner which I used frequently… Ingrid thinks of everything, it is the finishing touches, the peace and quiet, the lovely walks for the boys and the attentive catering (welcome pack)! Thank you again, it was what we needed, a few days loving a rest, walking  off our dogs to day stresses and enjoying the evenings with a glass (or two) sat in front of the roaring fire! We will be back and continue to recommend the lodges to our friends and family..

Thank you, Angie, Lynn, Theo and Max


*****

Curlew Lodge, 15-19 March 2019

Thank you, couldn’t have asked for better. Really lovely lodge and hospitality, a really relaxing place, ideal place to relax and chill out. Sit and relax on the veranda with a coffee or glass of wine or two and listen to the river. Lots of walks around, short walks or long walks. Don’t want to leave. I will be booking up to come and stay again.

Thank you, Ingrid and Han,
Love, Carole xxx


*****

Curlew Lodge, 8-11 March

We had an amazing weekend break, it was just what the doctor ordered, it was relaxing. We could park up and no need to drive off for anything as everything was provided. I think the only thing I couldn’t find in the kitchen was… scales but who needs kitchen scales. It truly is a well equipped kitchen*. The dogs loved the long walks off lead and a swim.

Thank you so much Ingrid a complete rest away from busy lives. We will be back.

Louise, Billy, Merlot and Sidney.


*Louise told me that as a keen baker, she was planning to create some cakes during her time off at the lodge, so I asked her to score our kitchen utensils for that. When scales was all she missed, we thought it over, but decided that adding specialist baking scales to the inventory was probably taking it too far, as the measuring jugs do that job already up to an everyday level.


*****

Curlew Lodge, 28 December 2018

Last minute booking…What a fantastic lodge + surroundings.
Welcome pack full of quality goods, logs, towels, dog treats + toys + candles lit on arrival.

Beau the bullmastiff totally enjoyed the walks and swims in the river and a shower area for dirty dogs complete with shampoo and towels is so thoughtful.

Loved every minute of it and the host Ingrid is delightful.
We will be back and plan to bring our families.
Thank for making our Christmas sooooo special.

Kev, Liz + Beau (English Bullmastiff)


*****

Curlew Lodge, 12.10.2018

Thank you!
We had a fantastic stay at the Curlew Lodge. The setting is beautiful and we have all enjoyed exploring the area. It’s brilliant to find somewhere so accommodating to dogs. Bella felt like royalty & had a lovely holiday.
Ingrid & Han have made us feel so welcome, they really couldn’t do enough for us and made our break so relaxing with all the effort made to make us feel welcome. The small touches for both us and the dog really made it for us & the welcome pack was fab. We will be sure to return again!

Katherine, Thomas, Harry, Alfie, Sally, Steve, Rick, Sam & Bella xx


*****

Curlew Lodge, 15.09.2018

Thank you for a wonderful weekend. The lodge is in a great location with walks around the area, not far from different day trips and has a very friendly village and pub just 5 minutes walk away. The lodge is ever so homely, cosy and comfy, a home away from home. You definitely have thought of everything, including catering for dogs. Mabel loved the treats!
And last but not least, Ingrid & Han are the perfect hosts, super friendly and very efficient. We will definitely be booking to come back with the rest of the family.

Thanks,

Stacey, Gary, Paula, Neil, Lesley and Mabel


*****

Curlew Lodge, 26.08.2018

An immaculately presented property in an idyllic location nestling on the edge of the Dales National Park. The host Ingrid was quick to respond to all enquiries and prepared the property with a warm, friendly modern and charming style with lots of unique touches that made us feel at home. The grocery pack was excellent, extensive and rich. The bowls, titbits, toys and facilities for the dog were a particularly nice touch, he felt truly spoilt. Popping by to make sure everything was okay and catching up during the visit also a nice touch. Accommodation was excellently presented and located in the idyllic location near West Tanfield with two great pubs, Village store and on the “trade route” to Black Sheep at Masham ...

Sat in the sun on the large deck listening to the river babbling away nearby and watching the wildlife was so peaceful .... Overall a 5 star experience !!!!

Ian Riddle

Our guests booked Curlew Lodge through Airbnb and reviewed it on Airbnb. We copied the page to add it to our Guest Book.


*****

Curlew Lodge, 23.08.2018

We have had a lovely and relaxing stay. Curlew was perfect for us and the hounds. Ingrid is super friendly and efficient.

So nice to find somewhere that welcomes and is equipped for dogs.

We have booked to come back in March

Kelly, Ashley, Daisy, Dougal, Dylan

Good to know we will see the two of you and your Basset Hound trio back for your Anniversary in March! Thanks!


*****

Curlew Lodge, 10.08.2018

A beautiful lodge which caters perfectly for any occasion. We had a fantastic break, the hosts are so friendly and very welcoming. They truly have thought of literally everything even thinking of the children and our dog. An excellent find that we will recommend to everyone. Thank you for your hospitality

Lee, Jo, Lea, Zach and Rosie the dog.


*****

Curlew Lodge, 3.8.2018

Thank you very much for allowing our families to be one of the first to stay at the Curlew Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back in the future to see how the park has developed.

The Ritchies and McConnells